Portable Post Workout Recovery Snacks

13 Jan

When I go to the gym, I go after work. I usually get there around 5:30 p.m. and don’t leave until between 6:30 and 7. When I leave, I’m ravenous.

Aside from having to tame the angry belly monster, I know that fueling within the first 30 minutes post-workout are essential for recovery (I know there’s science behind this – but this is actually a tried and true method, tried by yours truly).

Feed-me-seymour!

Feed me Seymour! (source)

It takes me 30 minutes just to get home from the gym, and most of the time I can hardly stand the smell of myself, let alone the thought of cooking anything for dinner (if I have to cook – one thing about living at home right now, most nights when I get home from the gym, dinner’s already done…).

The other day I consulted my FitFluential family (who else?) for some portable, post workout recovery snacks – here’s what they had to say:

  • Two boiled eggs and an apple (this came up more than once!)
  • ReGen Recovery Beverage (this wouldn’t be for me, since I’m trying to move away from food/beverages with artificial ingredients)
  • Picky Bars
  • Nut balls from Pure Bliss Eats
  • Banana, peanut butter, and handful of almonds
  • Luna Bars / Luna Protein Bars
  • Chocolate milk
  • Optimum Nutrition Whey Protein Shake (they do sell all natural whey protein!)
  • Mix1 Protein Shakes (YAY for all natural!)
  • Trail mix
  • Pink lady apples with slices of cheese
  • Turkey sandwich on wheat
  • Orange
  • Peanut butter sandwich with a handful of dates
  • 1/2 a banana in a TJ mini tortilla with a schmear of almond butter (and apparently the more squished it gets, the better it tastes!)

My additions:

  • GNC Lean Shake (for now, until I use up all of it, since it’s not all natural – however, if you’re not all about all natural this is a great way to go).
  • Turkey Perky Jerky – I just tried this stuff for the first time today, it’s AMAZING.
  • Clif Mojo Bars
  • Handful of mini-triscuits and string cheese (have you seen mini-Triscuits? They’re SO CUTE!)

There were also a lot of great tips for recovery beverages/snacks that aren’t portable too – I’ll do another post on those at another time!

Question: What is YOUR favorite portable post-workout snack?

Signature

17 Responses to “Portable Post Workout Recovery Snacks”

  1. Emz January 13, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Looooove your list!!
    I’m big on protein shakes, almonds & walnuts!!
    Must try picky bars!! 🙂

    • runcupcake January 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Almonds come up a lot, um going to have to buy a big bag

  2. Marcia January 13, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    great snack ideas! I usually go with a protein shake. If I can’t get to one quickly enough I’ll go with a Larabar or banana.

  3. Meg January 13, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I work out in the mid-morning, so I take my protein smoothie (fruit, veg, water, flax and whey protein powder) in a portable cup and drink it when I’m finished. It’s usually almost gone by the time I even get back to my car!

    • runcupcake January 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      That’s a great idea but how do you keep it cold?

  4. jobo January 13, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Yummy suggestions! I also dig Pure Protein chocolate bars…180 cals and 15G of protein and super duper tasty! Not for pre-run but day of, it’s a nice switch up to my usual oatmeal or eggs post-run 😉

    • runcupcake January 15, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      Ooh where do you get those bars?

  5. JessSutera January 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to try those picky bars – and now that you mention the mojo bars, I may need to pick some up for my trip to Cali next week. Needs to be prepared over here!

    I’m usually a carbs/protein girl myself so an apple (or banana) with pb or oatmeal with pb and chopped apples (after a Saturday AM run, HITS THE SPOT), or really anything with pb on it and I’m a happy camper haha

    • runcupcake January 15, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Haha me too, you know my love for Pb!

  6. Jessica M January 13, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Like Jess, I really want to try the Picky Bars too! Thanks for some more ideas that will add variety to my traditional post workout snack of trail mix! See you tomorrow running buddy!

  7. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 13, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    love this post! i need to try those mix1 shakes

  8. Amy January 13, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I like chobani yogurt with granola.

    • runcupcake January 15, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      That’s one of my favorite snacks!

  9. Ara M (@aratris) January 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    My favorite post workout snack is an apple & pudding or grapes & cheese. LOVE it. I’m always needing new snack suggestions though, so thank you SO much for this post.

  10. MizFit January 16, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    ok I need to try my perky jerky
    I bought 2 packs at target (TEN DOLLARS) and have been a weetad afraid of the perk 🙂

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      TEN DOLLARS? How big are these packages? I think I need some more already!

Leave a Reply

