Marathon #4 Excitement!

12 Jan

For my 4th Marathon, I’m running the Cox Sports Marathon. This race series is near and dear to my heart because it’s my race-iversary – two years in 2012 (Holy, where does the time go?!).

In 2010 I ran the 5k (I use the term ran loosely), and immediately became hooked on running.

In 2011 I ran the half-marathon – and it is still the race that I hold my half PR in. (Which will hopefully change on February 19).

2012 will be what I’ve been calling my 3-fer – three races in the Cox Rhode Races Series, and I’ll complete the series by running the Marathon this year.

While completing this race series in the first 2 years of running is pretty exciting in and of itself, this is even more exciting:

badge

I am a 2012 Cox Rhode Races Blogging Ambassador! What this means is that each week, while I’m updating you on my training, I’ll be updating you on my progress toward the Cox Rhode Races.

I’m not completely jumping the gun and skipping over Rock N Roll New Orleans, aka Marathon #3, but I am kinda-sorta considering RnR New Orleans as a stepping stone (I am still pushing for my 4:30 in New Orleans though…more on that later)– because a PR on my home turf, on my race-iversary would really make my year!

That’s all for now. Stay tuned for more updates from me on Cox Rhode Races, Marathon #4 and all my other training!

Signature

11 Responses to “Marathon #4 Excitement!”

  1. Amy January 12, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Yea for team Rhode Scholars! I will be running Cox half for the first time. I checked out your previous post about your half and now I’m sure it’s going to be a great race. I may have to check out the Brewery for post race meal too. That pizza looked delicious 😉

    • runcupcake January 12, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      It’s a great race, I had so much fun with it!

  2. jobo January 12, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Yay! That is awesome! I can’t believe your marathon is coming up so fast. You are going to rock it, I just know it.

    • runcupcake January 12, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      I know, New Orleans is only 7 weeks away! I’m getting nervous now that my long runs are getting LONG (16 on Saturday!)

  3. JessSutera January 12, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Welllllll get even MORE excited because I’m about to hop on over to register Scott and I for the half in RI in May. Even MORE reason to get happy about this marathon (NOT that New Orleans is no big deal because it SO IS!), because your’re gonna kill it and I’ll be there to see it!! (and hopefully I’ll kill the half..)

    • runcupcake January 12, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      I’m sure you can imagine how FREAKIN EXCITED I am right now?! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 12, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Yay!!!! Congrats, Samantha! So exciting! And SO well-deserved!!!

    It’s awesome that you are going to run the marathon on your 2 year anniversary with running a race =) So fun!!

    Looking forward to following your training! xoxo

    • runcupcake January 12, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Thanks Michele! I’m so excited to have come so far so fast. 🙂

  5. Stephanie January 12, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    So exciting!!! i was really thinking of doing that half on the 19th but not sure if i can swing it

    • runcupcake January 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      I just had to…its flat and I NEED sub 2 hours bad!

  6. chris D January 12, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Nice! Have a great run and stay healthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

