Monday Love: Run Edition

9 Jan

So it’s Monday. It’s the first full workweek for most of us in a while. We all need a little pick me up.

Well, what’s not to love about running, right? Especially when you had a week/weekend like I did!

1) Lets hear it for rundates! I can’t explain how excited I was when I tweeted last week looking for run dates, and Jessica responded that she had to do 12. I had 14 on tap, which isn’t too hard to finish after having a partner for 12, right?

We met Saturday morning at one of our local bike paths. It was already 50 degrees out at 10 a.m. – score one for Mother Nature in January!

We took off and just ran. I’m pretty sure neither of us paid too much attention to pace – we just ran comfortably. We talked about everything – blogging, FitFluential, kids, family, races, fueling, you name it.

Next thing I knew 12 miles had flown by. With two to go – Jess was awesome enough to stay with me and run the entire 14! It was so much fun to have a running partner – can’t wait to do it again!

The best part – we ran 14 miles with an overall 10:07 pace, and only stopped for a total of 4 minutes, and those were to cross roads. A couple of our intersections had some ridiculously long traffic lights.

2) Marathon #3 Training Update:

I’ve run two long runs in this training cycle so far and both have gone incredibly well. I have big confidence going forward.

Long Run #1: 12 miles. 1:57:34. 9:48 avg pace (A PR!)

Long Run #2: 14 miles. 2:21:49. 10:07 Avg pace. I’ve never run 14 miles as a training distance before. But when I ran 15 miles it was a 10:23 pace, so I’m counting this as a PR too.

3) Speaking of PR’s…I thought I had beat my weekly PR this week, with 38.65 miles, but I was wrong. 49.19 miles is the number to beat – which I set the last full week of August 2011, while training for the Air Force Marathon.

However, I haven’t run that far in a week since the Air Force Marathon. And I’m only just beginning RnR New Orleans training! I will break that PR this time around.

4) 6 miles after 14 miles is hard. But I’m so glad I did it. One thing I’ve never done is run my recovery run the very next day. It was hard to do, but my legs feel great right now. And they get today off!

I think I’m going to continue my long runs on Saturdays with a recovery run on Sunday, for as long as the weather and/or my schedule allow.

5) Something has clicked. I think I’ve had one of those “moments of clarity.” The paces I’m keeping for my long runs are like nothing I did while training for both of the other marathons I’ve run. Now I know I’m only on my 14 mile week, and I’m probably still riding a pretty good run high from a 20 mile weekend; however, something tells me this goodness doesn’t end when the runs get longer.

You know the drill – what are YOU loving on this Monday?!

Signature

5 Responses to “Monday Love: Run Edition”

  1. JessSutera January 9, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Something tells me you’re right – I think you’ve hit such a great stride here, running-wise and this marathon is going to be an amazing experience for you!!

    PS. I can’t wait to rundate with you!! You have to promise to rundate one of my long marathon training runs this summer, deal?? 😉

    • runcupcake January 10, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Thank you my dear!

      I was JUST thinking that I need to tell you that I want to rundate, one or more, of your long marathon training runs! It’d be SO MUCH FUN!

  2. jobo January 9, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    That’s awesome!! To think of 14 miles flying by sounds crazy to me, however, I actually believe it now more than I used to, considering 7 flew by with M on Saturday too. Running and not hating every minute of it makes a huge difference too. Did my 5 mile intervals this morning even though my legs wanted to sleep, glad I did. They’ll thank me when I’m on my flight for 6 hours tonight!

    • runcupcake January 10, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Isn’t it amazing how fast the run goes by when you have a partner? I was so surprised when we hit the 12 mile mark, right near our cars. I’m like “How did that happen?”

  3. Christine January 9, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    glad everything is clicking! sub 2 will be ours this spring 🙂

Leave a Reply

