Five for Friday: Food Talk

6 Jan

Happy Friday everyone! Today I’m here to talk food – some of what I eat, some of what I ate, and some of what I may or may not eat. This is going to be a kind of strange post, an introduction to future posts as the case may be.

Follow?

No?

Me neither.

Let’s just start, mmkay?

1) I’m in a food rut. I’ve been there before, and it’s really not too fun. So, I’ve been trying out new things lately, like this gorgeous lunch:

Sweet Potato Lunch

Sweet potato, plain Chobani mixed with honey, and raisins

The picture doesn’t do the size of the potato justice – so large that 3/4 of the way through I got sick of eating it. And had some applesauce and Triscuits. It was super yummy!

2) Normally I’m way too busy to put together a good meal for my family, it’s a damn good thing I don’t have kids relying on me huh? Tonight I got home and did a quick yoga workout, and was done by 6 p.m. So, I prepared homemade black bean cakes and homemade Spanish rice for my mommy and brother.

011 (3)

Recycled photo, sorry. I was too hungry. No pics of my homemade rice

So what’s with all the homemade business? Yeah, I prepare a lot of foods from scratch, but it’s so easy to grab the box of Rice A Roni isn’t it?

Do me a favor before you prepare that next box of rice…read it. You’ll probably think twice, I know I did. More on this later…but seriously just do me a favor and start reading your food labels if you don’t already. I think you’ll be surprised.

3) I just watched Forks Over Knives this week. My head is spinning. I’ve been told I also need to watch Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. I’m a little nervous about that one.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not worried that I’m fat or unhealthy. I just feel that there are always things I can be doing to keep myself the healthiest person I can be. More on this later too…

4) I’m thinking about cutting back the amount of meat I eat, perhaps to the point of none – or maybe just chicken and fish. I had already been contemplating it, but after watching Forks Over Knives I’m seriously considering making some serious changes. For my health, for the environment, for the animals…I haven’t made a decision yet, but changes will be made.

5) Chocolate is a food group. And so is wine. And these are two items in my life that I will never let go. Oh and beer too, can’t forget that!

I know this is a whacky, weird, perhaps confusing post. But I promise, when my brain wraps itself around…itself…I’ll put my thoughts into something that makes a bit more sense and share with you guys.

Have a fantastic Friday night! Early to bed for me, I have a 12 mile run date with this fantastic lady tomorrow!

Signature

14 Responses to “Five for Friday: Food Talk”

  1. Victoria Runs January 6, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    I really want to watch both of those movies! I try to eat a few meatless meals each week. I love how I feel when I eat clean and read labels. It does make a difference!

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Forks Over Knives REALLY made me think, like REALLY think. So much so that I watched it 48 hours ago, and I’m still thinking.

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 6, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Love sweet potatoes. You can mix and match so many flavor combos. I haven’t watched or read any of the meat-free books/movies, but I haven’t eaten meat in over 18 years. I cannot even imagine eating it again to be honest, but I think it’s a very personal choice (very random, ramble comment sorry)

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      No, not random ramble at all, I love this. 18 years? Wow! All meat?

      I’m seriously considering making a lot of these changes – I know I’ll feel better physically and mentally!

  3. Katie January 6, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    Omg… I felt the same way after watching Forks Over Knives. I actually shed a few tears during it. Incredible documentary that everyone should see.

    Btw… I’ve been meaning to e-mail/tweet you. How do you deal with mid-marathon training blahs. I had a horrible half a few weeks ago and have yet to get my mojo back. Any ideas?

  4. jobo January 7, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I didn’t think this was random! Your lunch sounds like it was yummy! I love sweet potatoes too. So good. Look forward to your upcoming foodie changes, whatever you decide. I support! of course (even if I don’t know that cutting meat from my diet, personally, would work for me. I dig it too much!). And cheers on chocolate and wine 🙂

  5. bearrunner January 7, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    cannot beat food talk

  6. JessSutera January 7, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Not a random post at all! I like how you think about food and how you’re evolving some of your food choices. Quite relieved to see that chocolate and wine are still food groups in your book. Phew. They’re still very much on my list of food groups too. 😉

  7. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 7, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    i need to watch forks over knives!

    • runcupcake January 8, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      Yes, absolutely. I can’t believe I put it off for so long, but I’m so glad that I finally watched it.

  8. Kalee January 8, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    The sweet potato/chobani meal looks so good!! I am going to have to try it this week! Also, I totally agree with you on reading the labels. I can’t believe how much stuff is added! EEK! I am trying to eat things with less than 5 ingredients or just straight food from the ground with only 1 ingredient. It is so much healthier!

    • runcupcake January 8, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      Me too, I was so surprised once I started really reading the labels!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s in YOUR Diet? « Running and Cupcakes - January 11, 2012

    […] I mentioned on Friday, I recently watched Forks Over Knives. I took a lot away from this video, but today I want to focus […]

  2. Making Some Changes « Running and Cupcakes - January 19, 2012

    […] alluded to some dietary changes I’d be making a couple weeks […]

Leave a Reply

