A 2.15 Mile Lesson

5 Jan

POP QUIZ:

What should a runner not eat for lunch, just a few short hours before a planned intense speed session?

Give up?

How about a salad that included lettuce, tomato, carrots, celery, green pepper, green onions, goat cheese, and…

BLACK BEANS

Yeah, about that. It was delicious. It satisfied me for a few hours.

It did not sit well when I cranked the treadmill up to 7.0 MPH and started working on my speed session.

I tried to ignore it. I did my best for 5 minutes, and cranked again to 7.2 MPH (more on this workout at another time – perhaps after I actually tackle it, since I haven’t done it since last winter).

The pain in my stomach was excruciating. So I stopped the treadmill – 15 minutes, 1.69 miles. And I did what any self respecting runner just getting back into marathon training would do.

I cleaned my treadmill off and walked back to the locker room (bathroom).

Without getting into detail – not much happened, well at least not what I wanted to happen. But I thought my stomach was better.

So I walked back out, got back on the treadmill, and started running again. I made it another 0.46 before the pain stopped me again.

I threw in the towel. I wasn’t about to embarrass myself and I honestly couldn’t tell what was going to happen next. At one point I thought I may vomit…at another point, well…that would just be TMI now wouldn’t it?

The moral of this story is two-fold.

  1. I need to plan my pre-meals better. PBJ on whole wheat with a banana, some crackers, or carrots, or something to the extent would’ve been much better than a four pound salad.
  2. I am running long on Saturday this week, and you guys know how I always talk about my eating habits two-days before races and long runs. Nice job on the pre-planning Samantha, nice job.

Well, I got a couple miles in, and I learned a very valuable lesson about advanced planning. No harm, no foul.

Tomorrow’s another day! And it’s Friday!

Signature


11 Responses to “A 2.15 Mile Lesson”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 5, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Ugh, hate it when stuff like that happens. It’s worse if you’re running outside. Thank goodness for running trails with bathrooms 😉

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      HAHA I don’t have any of those that I’ve discovered yet. Luckily many of my long runs consist of loops from home – just in case!

  2. jobo January 5, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh my God, CRACKING UP at this one…because I was having similar, uh, digestive issues in barre n9ne tonight after lentil soup overload the last two days hehe 😉 Even WORSE when running!! Glad you threw in the towel, instead of something else (LOL) and went home!

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      Lentil soup overload?! Holy LMAO That was a valuable lesson, I will plan much better from now on!

  3. bearrunner January 6, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Those black beans will get you every time!

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      Right? I really don’t know what I was thinking.

  4. JessSutera January 6, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    NOTHING worse than that feeling the second you step on the treadmill or head out for a run. UGH!! I’ve been thankful that it hasn’t happened to me TOO badly before, just enough to be a good warning signal 😉

    • runcupcake January 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      This was a good warning sign! No more beans before runs LOL

  5. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal January 6, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Ooph, but at least you were at the gym! That makes that….uh…situation a little easier to deal with!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eat this, not that – pre-run fuel edition | EatDrinkBreatheSweat - January 9, 2012

    […] of cereal with milk and sliced banana (think something not high in fiber to avoid the issue that Sam had the other day…hehe) Protein […]

Leave a Reply

