I Resolve…

3 Jan

…to not resolve.

2012 will be the year of reaching goals – not setting resolutions.

YAY It’s a new year so lets set a bunch of ridiculous resolutions that are almost impossible to accomplish.  Does that really even make sense? Setting a resolution for the entire year seems daunting. I’d rather set a big picture for myself, then take small bites off of it at a time.

Fitness Goals:

  • Run a 4:30 Marathon. I’d like to say this will happen in New Orleans, I am going to train to try my best to make it happen. It may not because things happen – but I will make it happen this year.
  • Run a sub 2-hour half marathon.
  • Run 12 races (at least). My race calendar already has 10 on it (3 marathons, 2 half marathons, and 5 5k’s so far)
  • Run 1200 miles (at least).
  • Improve my upper body strength through weight training.
  • Stretch more (more like every day – even if just a few minutes here and there).
  • Work my abs more.

Life Goals:

  • Start my NASM Certification studying (I have all the materials) and get certified.
  • Find a new job. This could be a tough one – but right now I am in a very unhappy place with my job. I’ve been here for 6 1/2 years, it’s not what I want to do with my life, and I need to make changes ASAP.
  • Pay down enough of my credit card debt to get back out on my own. My parents were gracious enough to let me stay with them while I get back on my feet, but I don’t want to overstay my welcome. And, I have really learned the value of silence of the past couple of months (and how much I miss it). 😉
  • Spend more time with people who I consider “good” – good for me, good to be around, just good in general- and cleanse my life of the toxic ones – I learned this just this weekend after an amazing New Year’s Eve and an amazing New Year’s Day.
  • Get organized. Packing up your life into a storage unit and one little bedroom leaves a lot to be desired. Because of this I’ve become what I would consider extremely disorganized.  I can’t stand that feeling – now I will put my foot down and get (and stay) organized.

I don’t consider these items to be resolutions, but rather goals that I can take my time with and work on a little bit at a time.

So far this year (I realize it’s only the third day) I feel like I’m on a winning streak, and I don’t intend to let that change.

This list is going to be whittled away one month at a time. I’ll update throughout the month, with a “month in review” at the end of each month. This is new for me because I usually do make resolutions – which I sometimes keep (last year the two that were kept was run 12 races and run a marathon before 30).  It will be interesting to see my successes and lessons learned.

January:

  • Start organizing – little things like putting my laundry away right away (I hate laundry) and filing/shredding papers as needed.
  • Study on the weekend – I don’t have many plans this month after a hectic November/December. A great time to get to studying!
  • 4 more long runs – 14, 16, 18, and 20. The goal is to maintain my pace as close to goal pace as possible while implementing little to no stops/breaks (unless absolutely necessary – you know, like a pee break 😉 )
  • Run at least 120 miles (Daily Mile Challenge)
  • Do P90X X-Stretch once a week, while also working on remembering to stretch post run, and whenever else I get the urge.
  • Begin working my upper body, a little bit at a time, to get back into the swing of it.
  • Work in as many traditional sit-ups as I can. These will not only give me the abs I really want, but will continue to strengthen what I consider my weakest running muscles – my hip flexors.
  • Most important: Listen. Listen very close to my body. This month is going to be a big month after taking 2 1/2 easy months – listening is going to be key. If I need a full blown rest day, I take it. If I need to slow a run down, I’ll do it. If I need to skip speed for the week, I will. I will continue through January and February strong and uninjured as I approach Marathon #3.

What about you? Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Or do you take the goal-oriented approach? 

13 Responses to “I Resolve…”

  1. Christine January 3, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    love this!!! we have some of the same goals too! sub 2 hour half or bust. and did i hear that you are running the providence marathon in may????

    xoxo

    • runcupcake January 3, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      You did hear that. Are you????? 😀

  2. Amy January 4, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    I’m super impressed with the amount of thought you point into setting your goals and planning the steps you will take to achieve them! Good for you.

    I’ll be in Providence this May too, for the half!

    • runcupcake January 4, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 this is the most thought/effort I’ve put into goals in probably my whole life 🙂 I’m ready for a phenomenal year

      We need to talk more about May!

  3. jobo January 4, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I love your goals, not resolutions 😉 1200 miles! you are insane, but I love ya and know you will power through every last mile to hit that number!! And we can definitely be each other’s accountability for abs and stretching! I also agree with you on silence…one of my favorite things about when I lived alone 🙂

    • runcupcake January 4, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      I am insane 🙂 you def know this now Hahahahaha

      Loving accountability…makes doing it even that much more worthwhile, right?

  4. Elizabeth January 4, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Fantastic goals– and I love your choice towards thoughtful goals, rather than fleeting resolutions. I need to be better about stretching. A lot better. 🙂 Happy 2012!

    • runcupcake January 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      Happy 2012 to you! After spending many New Years making and not keeping resolutions I decided that specific goals and actions are the way to go.

  5. JessSutera January 4, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    I love everything about this post – it is just so positive and upbeat and REAL. I especially dig the part about surrounding yourself with “good” – amen, sista, AMEN. Let’s rock this year like nobody’s business, shall we??

    • runcupcake January 4, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      In the name of positivity, amen 😉

      We are going to rock it, I have no doubts 🙂

  6. AlexandraFunFit January 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I don’t do resolutions either. And I love your plan to work on abs. The running stuff sounded too daunting. And good luck getting your debt down – Danielle Liss has some great posts about to do that.

    • runcupcake January 5, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      HAHA Well the running stuff has it’s daunting moments, but I love it.

      I do really need to read Danielle’s posts!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Recap « Running and Cupcakes - February 7, 2012

    […] was an awesome month for me. I wrote at the beginning of January how I resolve to not resolve. Then I went on and on about a bunch off stuff I want to accomplish this […]

Leave a Reply

