Speed, Interrupted

23 Dec

Last night I went to the gym for my Wednesday speed workout. On tap for this week – mile warm up, 8 x 400 speed interval, 8 x 400 recovery interval, mile cool down = 6 total miles.


I walked out, with 3 okay miles. 

It was so weird. I ran my warm up mile at a 10 minute pace and felt fine. Then I cranked the old ‘mill to a whopping 8.6 mph (I figured if I could run mile intervals at 7:47 then I can run 1/4 miles at 6:59 right?). I did my first speed interval, it was hard, but I really just didn’t feel “on”. I recovered for a quarter mile, then cranked it for speed interval number 2. Something still didn’t feel right… I recovered again, and tried again. I didn’t make it the full 1/4 mile this time – my foot/ankle/shin on my right foot just hurt. So I slowed it down and lightly ran out 3 miles.

I sprained this ankle last May while I was still doing Couch to 5k – and I feel like I never strengthened it properly because last night was roughly the 4th or 5th time I’ve experienced this exact pain in my ankle. It hurt to drive home. It hurts now, 24 hours later, not as bad but still sore.

Today, I sat down and reviewed my training log. 11 total speed sessions in November and December (including 2 5k races). Well…

DUH

11 Speed sessions in 8 weeks. That’s about 3 speed sessions to many for me. And now my body has something to say about it. You may also recall that I had a less than stellar run this past Saturday. I am convinced my body is saying
I love Smurfs! (source)
I obviously took it too far because now I have pain. 

The plan from now until January 1st (My first official day of Marathon #3 training) is as follows:
  • 3-4 Days Elliptical
    • I’m hoping to try to get a slow easy run in – but my foot/ankle may not want to hear it.

If that’s the case:

  • I plan on going back to strength training Monday. Jill and Carla (both wicked WICKED awesome ladies and both fellow FitFluential ambassadors) both volunteered themselves last night to help whoop my scared of heavy lifting booty into shape. I hope they realize how much I plan on pestering them – I am STILL sore from my Xen Strength Yoga workout the other day. I need HELP.
    • Speaking of Xen Strength, have you entered my giveaway yet? I’m picking a winner on Christmas Eve morning! 
  • Stretch.
  • Stretch.
  • Stretch some more.
  • Build my ankle strength though any and all means possible, as well as a couple exercises I’ve learned for shin splints – just to make sure I don’t get those bad boys again, they hurt!
  • Speedwork no more than once a week and not always balls to the wall (thanks for the recommendation Jess!). 
I hope, since January 1st is really only 8 days away, that this quick recovery plan works and I’m back hitting the road or the ‘mill in no time.

For now, I rest/recover/hope for the best.

Do you have any butt kicking ankle exercises to share with me? 


One Response to “Speed, Interrupted”

  1. Jill Hanner December 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Girl! You can pester me anytime!! I need it to. Stretching is so important. I need to do it more, I strained my calf running !

Leave a Reply

