Five for Friday: Favorite Things

16 Dec

I realize that a great majority of my posts are either running or fitness related, with the occasional sprinkling of other things I enjoy, like photography.


Today, I’m going to share a bit more about me that has nothing to do with fitness me. 

Five for Friday: Favorite Things. 

Five categories.

Five favorite things in each category.



Enjoy!


Favorite Girly Products (Can’t Live Without)


When I’m not running, getting sweaty, or soaking up the great outdoors, I’m a bit of a girly girl. Here are my can’t live without Top 5 Girly Girl items:


1) Victoria’s Secret Love Spell Body Lotion and Body Spray. I love this scent like no other! 



2) Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss. My two faves are Yummy Berry (it’s SO fruity!) and Mocktail Hour (the perfect neutral shimmer color). I can’t live without lip-gloss (or at the very least chapstick – but not Chapstick brand – it has to be Burt’s Bees).



3) Maybelline “The Falsies” Mascara in Very Black. My eyelashes are virtually invisible without mascara, and this particular mascara gives them a bold, dramatic look without being too over the top. 



4) Aeropostale tank tops. I own them in a HUGE variety of colors (no joke: purple, pink, teal, green, orange, black, etc…). I literally wear one almost every day. I wear them under polo shirts, under sweaters, under t-shirts, with everything. I buy them in bulk whenever I make a trip to the outlet store.



5) Bath & Body Works Anti-Bacterial Hand Lotions. These reside in my purse, on my work desk, on my home desk, in my car, in my bathroom, etc…I can’t stand dry hands.



Favorite Non-Running/Non-Fitness Hobbies


1) Reading. I’m a giant bookworm – I am always, always reading something. Here’s what I’m reading right now: 



2) Shopping. Duh. I love to shop. My fave shopping partner is my mother – seriously, we often joke about it (but I don’t think it’s a joke really) that no one else “gets it”, the way we shop. We can be walking around the outlets, and both look at a store and go “Yup.” or “Nah.” and we agree, and carry on our way.


3) Photography. You guys pretty much knew this one already. I love to take pictures of everything, I love it even more when I get the pics to come out super pretty. One of my fave nature pics: 



4) Scrapbooking/Crafty stuff. When I actually have time, I love to do crafty stuff. I plan on starting a race-bib scrapbook this winter (I have about 20 races under my belt now, I think I better get started!).


5) Singing. I totally love karaoke nights. They’re so much fun! 



Favorite Bands


Click on the band names for YouTube links to my fave songs by each band! 


1) Nickelback. Yeah yeah I know. A lot of people think they’re whiny, cry baby b.s. music. Listen to their non-radio play stuff and it just may sway ya’. 


2) The Mighty Mighty Bosstones. I’ve seen them live at least a dozen times. 


3) Daughtry. Total chick music. Chris Daughtry’s hot. ‘Nuf said.


4) Godsmack. I love me some Sully metal, probably more often than you’d think from pink loving bubbly little me.


5) Alter Bridge. I am forever grateful to my friend Gary for introducing me to Alter Bridge. Myles Kennedy has a voice that just blows me away. If you’ve never heard of them (a lot of people haven’t – which is shameful) give them a listen. I hope you’ll enjoy their music as much as I do.


Not Your Typical Favorite Foods


I could list some other faves, like pizza, cupcakes, and peanut butter, but I don’t know very many people who don’t love that stuff. 


1) Chowdah and clamcakes. Here in Lil’ Rhody those items are one “food”, always served together. 



2) Littlenecks. Also known as steamers. Literally what the name says – they are clams with a “little neck.” You can eat them raw (littlenecks on the half-shell) with lemon juice and horseradish or hot sauce (not too much though – I damn near choked myself to death this summer by doing that). Or steam them and serve them with drawn butter. Either way, super yummy. 


3) Pasta fagioli. My grandmother’s recipe only. I seriously hope my Aunty (that’s pronounced on-tee, by the way) learned how to make this before my Grammy passed away, otherwise I may never have it again (unless of course Chef Little Bro thinks he can duplicate it…).


4) Butterballs. Not the turkey. The cookie. I just re-discovered my love for these delicious little babies last night. They’re a cookie that is made every Christmas in my family. I’ll ask Mommy if I can share the recipe (I believe it came from her Grandma). Lets just say little buttery nutty balls of goodness rolled in confectioners’ sugar. What’s not to love?


5) My mother’s fried chicken. Wicked bad right? I don’t care cuz it’s sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooood. 


Favorite Beers


I love beer, it’s no secret. I love a wide variety of beer too (no cheap-o girly beer here).


1) Guinness. Most recently, Guinness after a hard 5k. I would like to hug the brilliant person that decided to sell $1 Guinness drafts at a local pub after the Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot. Sheer brilliance.


2) Left Hand Milk Stout. I ordered this one day because I’m left handed, so I thought it’d be fun to try. One of the smoothest beers I’ve ever drank in my entire life. 


3) Dogfish Head 60 and/or 90 Minute IPA. I was never an IPA fan ’til one fateful night in South Carolina when a bunch of runners were gathering for drinks at a pub in Charleston after running half and full marathons…Do I really need to finish this story?


4) Post Road Pumpkin Ale. I really wish I could get this year round. Pour it into a glass that’s rimmed with cinnamon and sugar and it tastes like liquid pumpkin pie. Heaven in a glass.


5) Harpoon. This seems to be my go-to draft when I’m out at a restaurant whose draft beer selection is less than stellar (read: Bud Light, Coors Light, ick, gross).


Now that I’ve written you a novel, tell me, what are five of your favorite things?!


One Response to “Five for Friday: Favorite Things”

  1. Emz December 16, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    The Mighty Might Bosstones.

    You just freaking get better & better.
    Love this!!

Leave a Reply

