Treadmill Fartleks (A Brand New Speed Workout)

15 Dec

While I was sitting at my desk at work today, dreaming of my run, a thought occurred to me as an answer to the ever present question:


How can I make running on the treadmill more interesting?


I know! Treadmill fartleks!


You may be wondering, how do I do a fartlek on the treadmill?


How about (this is genius…prepare yourselves):

BY SONG!

I couldn’t wait to get to the gym and try this idea out for tonight’s speed workout. I warmed up for a mile at 10mm and the remainder of Mile 6 (cooldown) was at the same pace. All intervals were at 8 mph (7:30/mm pace) for the speed, and 4 mph (15/mm pace) for the recovery. I did do a 6 mph (10/mm pace) for the first recovery, but it didn’t take me long to realize that I would have a hard time maintaining the speed portion if I did that. My breathing was a bit off tonight, my nose was stuffy, otherwise I think 7:30 pace and 10 pace would have worked fine. 

Here’s how it went down:

5 total speed intervals over 4 miles. I’d guesstimate somewhere between 2.25-2.5 miles were run at the 7:30 pace. 

My end result was 6.05 miles in one hour which is an average 9:55 pace overall. 

This was a super fun workout, I never knew what I’d end up with next. I think I’ll try it again with an actual running playlist because I did have to skip through some of the songs on my iPod to get to what I deem the “acceptable running songs.” 

I’d rate this in the “more fun than hard” speed workouts, but maybe that just means I’m getting stronger? Who says that 5 intervals at a 7:30 pace are fun? Next time I try this I will try with running, rather than walking, recovery. As long as my nose cooperates. 

I hope you will all give my super fun interval workout a try! If you do, share with me what songs did it for you, I’m always looking to mix up my playlists.

Have a great night my friends!




One Response to “Treadmill Fartleks (A Brand New Speed Workout)”

  1. Emz December 15, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    What a freaking awesome idea.
    You rock woman.
    Love this.
    Loved the post workout photo too.
    Oh & I love your tweets too.
    You
    Make
    Me
    Smile.

Leave a Reply

