Five for Friday: Marathon #3

10 Dec

This edition of Five for Friday is brought to you by:

MARATHON #3! I know I’ve mentioned it a whole bunch of times, have I made an official announcement? I can’t remember…if not, here it is:

ON MARCH 4, 2012 I WILL BE RUNNING THE ROCK ‘N’ ROLL NEW ORLEANS MARATHON!

Five things I’m taking into consideration training for this race:
  1. Set long run paces. When I trained for my first two marathons I just went out and ran my long runs. If I petered out, I petered out. If I felt strong, that was great too. Not this time. I have set paces per mile for miles up to 10, from 10 to 15, and greater than 15. When I get to mile 15 of a 20 mile run and I feel like I can’t push on, I will push on. I will strive to keep the pace set for me. I know I need this mentally and physically so I can run my best on race day. 
  2. I will not overhydrate. I run my long runs while wearing my Fuel Belt; however, I refuse to wear it during a race. Honestly, I just don’t like it. I only use it because I have to. With that being said, I found myself overhydrating because the liquids were readily available. Come race day, when liquids are only available every couple of miles, I suffer because I can’t drink whenever I want. I’m going to train myself to hydrate based roughly around how the water stops are located for the race. I’ll load my pockets with gum and gummy bears to keep my mouth happy the rest of the time. 
  3. I will not stop taking Gu at Mile 15 just because I’m too worn out to think and still have 5 miles to go. I know the Gu is going to push me through those last 5 miles, so skipping it is not an option. 
  4. I will train for a 4:30 marathon finish time; however, I’m going into this race with an open mind because it is a Rock N Roll event. It may be wicked crowded, or I may just want to have fun with it. I won’t know until race day comes if I’m going to actually try for 4:30 or not, but I will be ready.
  5. (Coachy will like this one).  I will not miss a long run unless I have a damn good reason. I wussed out on my training for Marathon #2 – I was tired, it was hot out, my foot hurt, blah blah blah. No excuses. If I want to run a good marathon that I can say with pride I gave every ounce of my being to, I have to train for it.
I want to look like this at the end of Marathon #3:

Me and Coachy crossing the finish line in Vermont – My first marathon
Does anyone else have anything I should add to this list? Things to keep in mind while training for a 4:30 marathon?



Leave a Reply

