Gimme that Speed

9 Dec

That is how I feel right now! I had a butt kicking run tonight that, honestly, I was dreading when Coachy told me what he wanted me to do. 


I didn’t run my normal speed Wednesday, so I told Coachy I wanted to run speed today, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to do. I always know he’s scheming when he says this, “What’s your best 5k pace now?” That means nothing but trouble in my eyes. So, I told him 7:56, which is my pace from Sunday’s brand new PR


So, since I’m getting back into marathon training mode (hello, New Orleans, can’t wait to see you!), Coachy recommended mile repeats. Then he recommended I do them at 7:30 (um, what, are you CRAZY?). We chatted about it a bit, and finally agreed on a 7:45 pace, which ended up being a 7:47 pace because of the settings on the treadmill (7.7 mph – holy flying legs).


It went a little like this:

  • Mile 0-1 – Warm up @ 10 mm
  • Mile 1-2, 7:47 pace, two totally kick ass songs (Metalingus by Alter Bridge and Adrenaline by 12 Stones). That wasn’t so bad, my legs felt fresh and great, and my stride was stellar.
  • Mile 2-2.15 – Walk @ 20mm. Catch my breath, quickly realize I have to do this THREE MORE TIMES?! 
  • Mile 2.15-3.15: The music this time around was good, but not as good as the first interval, so I concentrated more on the number on the screen and the fire in my lungs, than my legs, my stride, and kicking this intervals butt (whoops). 
  • Mile 3.15-3.40: Walk @20mm again. Longer break, longer time to catch breath after speedy mile #2. I also looked through my music on my phone this time (I forgot my iPod at home) to try to find some good speedy music for the next mile.
  • Mile 3.40-4.40: Ugh, torture. I did find a kick ass song to start the interval, Burn it to the Ground by Nickelback, I don’t remember the middle song, and then Born for This by Flatfoot 56. I couldn’t wait for this interval to be over. My hips flexors were sore, my lungs were ON FIRE, I wanted to quit before it was over so bad. But I knew I couldn’t, so I didn’t.
  • Mile 4.40-4.75: Longest walk break, same thing @ 20mm. I was dreading the final interval. I didn’t want to do it. AT. ALL. But, I tricked myself…
  • Mile 4.75-5.75: Final speed interval. How did I trick myself? I found two songs in my phone that were not only ass kicking speed songs, but long enough to get through the interval. Edge of Glory by Lady Gaga is 5 minutes and 20 seconds long. I took my towel, hid the timer on the treadmill, and ran through that song. I wouldn’t allow myself to look at the clock until the song was over, and by then I was 3/4 of the way through the interval. Then, to finish that interval was Energy by Shinedown – I love the lyrics in this song, “Now I own you.” I think I may have been singing outloud by the end of this interval. It did not seem as awful as Interval #3, maybe because I knew it was the last one? Maybe because of two totally appropriate kick ass songs? Who knows. All I knew was at 5.75 it was OVER.
  • 5.75-6.0: Final walk break, final everything. Phew. Done.
If you want to know why I’m running one mile intervals at such a speedy pace for marathon training, check out some articles that explain it way better than I ever could:
These intervals are also good for me, mentally, because they’re so hard to push through. They help you work on that mental endurance that is so necessary for marathon running.

One more thing before I retire for tonight.

I wrote down my long run paces in my appointment book, so that I don’t have to keep bugging Coachy every week (I have a terrible memory…). Right after my run, I was thinking about how I wrote these paces on the “Frequent Numbers” page, and it totally cracked my ass up. Does anyone else see the humor in this? Running paces, frequent numbers…heh…get it?

Perhaps I’m just overly silly, run-high, and cheesy?

Goodnight!!!!
Leave a Reply

