Work that Upper Body

6 Dec

Today I created (with the help of some of my Twitter friends – thanks guys!) my own home upper body workout. This workout can be done anywhere – all you need is a mat (or soft surface), a chair, and either some hand weights, a resistance band, or just something heavy. (Jolene, I’m looking at you with this one – I thought of you and all your upcoming travel while I was doing this workout!). 


I created this workout because I’m not ready, post-accident, to start lifting a lot of weight at the gym, and because many upper body workout videos also incorporate a lot of lower body work – after yesterday’s mega 5k PR, my legs weren’t up for any kind of work. 


The workout (as I did it – feel free to modify as you find necessary) – do this circuit twice, it should take you about half an hour (also perfect for the 30 for 60 Challenge).


Plank: Hold for 60 seconds.

Source
Side plank: Hold for 30 seconds each side. If you’re up for a real challenge do the second picture, it is much more difficult.
Source
Source
Push ups: 15 repetitions (I do modified for now, until my strength returns fully)
Source

Chair dips: 15 repetitions
Source
Rear deltoid raise: 15 repetitions (I used 10 pound weights)
Source
Bicep curls: 15 repetitions (I used 10 pound weights again)
Source
Reverse plank: I held the first one for 60 seconds, the second one for 30 seconds 
Source
My arms are tired and shaky after this workout, so I know it did what I intended for it to do! Give my workout a try and let me know what you think (please!).

2 Responses to “Work that Upper Body”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Link Love - Lindsay's List - January 2, 2012

    […] Upper Body Workout – My first self created upper body workout (did it yesterday, it left me sore, it’s a good one) […]

  2. Project 10: Week 1 « Running and Cupcakes - June 13, 2012

    […] Work that Upper Body […]

Leave a Reply

