How I Became FitFluential (7 Tips)

3 Dec

I never in a million years thought I’d be a part of the awesome family that is FitFluential. My idea of fitness was laughable, and I was in okay shape. I was only “normal sized” (what does that even mean?) because I didn’t allow myself to overeat – through various eating programs like Weights Watchers or straight up tracking calorie/fat intake.

Source

When I realized that at 28 years old and 140 pounds (I’m 5’5″, so I was far from overweight…) I couldn’t walk up stairs without being winded or having knee pain, I had that moment of clarity. That moment that speaks to you and says, “Do something now, before it’s too late.” I didn’t have one particular person that inspired me, I had no idea what I was doing, but I knew I needed to do something. So I did.


What did I do? How did I do it? Here’s 7 tips, that are loosely based around what I did, which I think you’ll find extremely valuable:

1) Have a goal. It doesn’t have to be a huge goal, I learned this one fast. But, still have a goal. My goal was to run a 5k, so I registered for a 5k. Then I took on the challenge of the Couch to 5k Running Plan. And when I graduated the program, I ran my 5k. My point? The goal. Set it. Do it. After you complete that goal, set another one. A series of mini-goals will help you accomplish your end result in a much less frustrating manner than setting one huge goal. Keep your huge goal in mind, strive to accomplish it, but use these mini-goals as stepping stones toward your desired end result.

Source

2) Create a plan. I plan based on my next goal. After tomorrow’s 5k, my next goal is the Rock N Roll New Orleans Marathon. I will focus on that and plan accordingly. Once the race is over, I’ll recover for a week or two, then reconvene (with myself…well, and Coachy, of course) and start planning for the Cox Rhode Races Marathon. Create your plan based on your next mini-goal – want to lose 10 pounds in a month? Plan around that. Want to run a sub-30 minute 5k? Plan around that. It doesn’t have to be set in stone, but a loose plan will make taking action that much easier.

Pencil your plan in, leave it open to changes, life happens! (Source)

3) Make the time. I am almost sure the #1 excuse for not working out is “I don’t have time.” I call B.S. Make time. #1 excuse for not eating healthy (In my opinion)? “I don’t have time to cook.” More B.S. There is always time, but you have to make the choice to find that time. I go to the gym right after work. Of course that means I don’t get home until 7 or later. So, you have to make time to plan meals accordingly too.  If you have a plan, then you know what days you’re working out, when you’ll be home late or up early, and you can plan accordingly. 

Make time for YOU (Source)

4) Spend some money. If you spend a good chunk of change getting started on something you’re going to feel pretty darn bad if you just throw it all in a corner and give up, right? Buy a sleek new pair of running shoes, join Weight Watchers, join a gym, whatever fits your current goals. I don’t need much motivating during nice weather, but in the winter I usually need a swift kick in the butt to get moving.  Luckily, seeing the $19.99 deduction from my bank account every month reminds me that I have a gym membership that needs to be used. That’s $5 a week that I could be buying Starbuck’s with… I’m throwing away if I don’t use the membership. 

These oughta make me run another 300 or so miles…
5) Make it a family affair. Get your family involved in your activity.  I got both of my parents to do Couch to 5k, and they run races with me! 
Me and Mom before the Irish 5k this past March (Part of Tour de Patrick)
Race bags for tomorrow’s Downtown Jingle Bell 5k – the whole family is running!
6) Start now. No excuses. Don’t say, “It’s the holidays, so I’ll make this my New Year’s Resolution.” If you are committed to getting fit, getting healthy, losing weight, etc. then you’ll start as soon as you are ready to start. Don’t put it off. The longer you put it off, the more excuses you can up with as to why you shouldn’t start in the first place.
Source

 7) Find some inspiration. When I start to feel down, like I don’t want to press on, I look to others for inspiration. I read lots of other blogs. There are way too many people to name here, I’d feel like I was leaving someone out. I regularly read day to day life blogs, running blogs, weight loss blogs, general fitness blogs, or I just take to Twitter. There is inspiration lurking around every corner. Or better yet…

Source
I hope you find my tips useful! Get out there, get moving, and you too can be FitFluential!



Leave a Reply

