A Step in a New Direction

3 Dec

On Monday I taunted my darling Twitter followers with this:

Now, it’s Friday and I am FINALLY going to tell you what it is.

Do you know what it is?!


I am studying to become an NASM Certified Personal Trainer! I am BEYOND excited to start studying. Like Revenge of the Nerds level excited to study. 


I’m also nervous though because “science” is not was not really my thing. I have an Associate’s Degree in Business with an Accounting Concentration. I was going to school to become a CPA, but that changed after my last semester. 


The end of my last semester symbolized what would have been my transfer to a 4-year college, after years of part-time community college semesters working for my Associates Degree. I was accepted to the college I wanted to go to, but before I made the switch I did a little soul searching. 


I asked myself:


Do I really want to sit behind a desk for the rest of my life?


I don’t like paying my own bills, dealing with my own money, or doing my own taxes – am I going to enjoy doing it for others?


The answer to both of those questions was a resounding

NO!!!!

I think I took to accounting because I’m a numbers freak – add, subtract, multiply, divide, fractions – math is easy for me, it just comes natural…But, it didn’t take me long to realize that personal training is really a step in the right direction for me.



I love fitness.


I love helping people.


Perfect combination, right?! 


Right.  So, will you follow along with me as I study and learn how to train people to become the fittest person they can be?


I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend! I guarantee my studying will start this weekend! I’m just a giant nerd, what can I say?


2 Responses to “A Step in a New Direction”

  1. Mike Wear December 3, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    Congrats! That is great news! Good luck on your journey. I think it is very cool that you have found something you are passionate about and are pursuing it.

  2. OatmealBowl December 3, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Congrats! I think that is way awesome. You have a big support group. 🙂

Leave a Reply

