Listening and Leftovers

28 Nov

Happy Sunday! Did this weekend fly by or what? 


Today I truly learned the meaning of listening to your body. I’ve been trying for some time to understand this, but today I had a moment of clarity. Coachy often tells me to run by feel – run by what your legs want to do. This morning I woke up with the intention of running speed intervals (5k number two is next Sunday), and ended up with this instead:

Not even a mile into today’s run I knew I wouldn’t be running intervals, so I immediately told myself “Run comfortable, get the miles in, and be careful.” Normally I’d be pissed that I couldn’t run my intended run – but today, I took it in stride, and just went with it. And I am not upset with it, I’m happy I got the miles in. Plus, it was really freakin hilly. 

Listening to my body example #2: Earlier in the week I accepted a challenge that a bunch of Twitter peeps are doing that involves doing at least 100 pushups a day. This is great for me, because I need the upper body work, and I’ve been put on lifting limitations due to my accident injured shoulder (no overhead lifting or pulling). Friday and Saturday I did 200 total pushups (mostly girly, some real), today I did 25. My shoulders are sore, but more so my left shoulder is hurting again, so I stopped. I’ll start again when the shoulder feels good enough again.


I’m now fully accepting of the “listen to your body” mindset – important if I want to stay healthy and injury free!


Are you good at listening to your body? What do you do?


*******************


And now for the good stuff… using up those Thanksgiving leftovers! Friday night my brother created this gorgeous Turkey Pot Pie for me, him, and our mother, and he allowed me to take his recipe and share it with everyone! I hope you enjoy this!



Brother’s Turkey Pot Pie


Ingredients:


2 pie crusts
One fully cooked turkey breast, chopped
1 tbsp parsley
2 quarts turkey/chicken/veggie stock (your choice)
4 large adult (<–brother's word) carrots, chopped
4 celery stalks, chopped
2 small onions, chopped
Thyme, crushed red pepper, salt, and black pepper (to taste)
3/4 cup flour
3/4 stick butter
1 bag frozen peas


Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Combine turkey, stock, and parsley. Bring to a boil and reduce by 2/3, creating a broth.
  3. Saute carrots, celery, and onions until approximately halfway tender. Add remaining seasonings.
  4. Remove vegetables from pan and set aside. 
  5. Melt the butter in the same pan you cooked the veggies in. Once melted, add the flour to create a roux. Cook until medium brown in color.
  6. Strain  broth and set turkey aside.
  7. Slowly whisk broth into the roux, creating a gravy.
  8. Once the gravy is smooth, mix in the cooked veggies, turkey, and frozen peas.
  9. Transfer pie filling to pie plate and cover with second pie crust.
  10. Bake for 35 minutes or until crust is a light brown.


How are YOU using your Thanksgiving leftovers?


One Response to “Listening and Leftovers”

  1. VERONICA November 28, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    Ahem…please do not use “girly” as a synonym for “half-assed.” We are not inferior by default. Otherwise, as always, I heart your posts 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

