Active Rest Days

27 Nov

When people started signing up for the 30 for 60 Challenge, I noticed a common theme: I don’t know how I feel about not taking a rest day. 


I understand that, completely.  I used to be the same way. But now, I don’t feel good when I take a full blown rest day, unless I’m fully exhausted or feeling burnt out. So, I’ve implemented one active rest day per week into my routine, on Saturday. Plus, who doesn’t like it when the workout log has something logged in every. single. day. 


I’m going to share with you some of my favorite ideas for active rest days:

  • Go for a walk. Get outside, get some fresh air, enjoy some time with friends, family, or your pet! I went for a 3.3 mile walk with my mom today, since she’s trying to get back into a fitness routine. It was nice to have someone to talk to the whole time too!
  • Stretch. Throw on your favorite DVR’ed sitcom, and stretch your body during the entire 30 minutes. It doesn’t have to be strenuous, but making a habit of this will help increase your flexibility and get you moving on your rest day. Favorite stretches for runners: Cool Running: Stay Loose: Stretches for Runners
  • Do some easy body weight strength training: planks, side planks, pushups, crunches, chair dips. You can easily fill up 30 minutes with some simple strength moves. I did a one minute plank, 100 pushups (only 20 “real” pushups, the rest “girly” or “modified” for those of you that like to be politically correct), and 100 crunches today, along with my walk.  Again, these strength moves are something you can do while watching TV (so no excuses really…). 
  • Go hiking. Where I live, the Audubon Society has some nice, easy, short hiking trails scattered throughout the state, that never get old. Plus, they’re small and safe enough to go alone if you don’t have anyone else to go with. I like to bring my camera, I almost always see something worthy of photographing. And again, you’re getting outside and getting sunshine and fresh air – who doesn’t love that?
  • Play Wii Sports or Wii Fit.  This is especially fun if you’re trying to keep your family active – get everyone involved! I love the ski jump, the soccer one (where you have to hit the balls with your head), and BOXING.  You can get a fun little cardio workout boxing for 30 minutes with Wii Fit – and perhaps the title of “Boxing Champion” in your house! 
So, there you have it. Some of my favorite ways to spend my Active Rest Days. If you haven’t signed up for the 30 for 60 Challenge for the “no rest day” reason, won’t you reconsider now?! You have until Wednesday to sign up!
Leave a Reply

