Toughen Up Cupcake

22 Nov

I haven’t written much about my birthday, or turning 30, or any of that. I spent most of my birthday not doing much of anything, which was GREAT. I did go for a little run, and I did do some Ab-Ripper X, but other than that I spent most of the day chilling until I went out with a big group of my favorite people for some celebrating! 

The gang’s all here!
Friends since we were 14
Yes, she is wearing her MCM Jacket 😉
Me and Sara – always a great time when we’re together!
Obviously having fun…
Crazy fun… 😉

Then yesterday I did this:

Right? My thoughts exactly… They were mile repeats, so I did stop to catch my breath/heart beat/etc in between every mile. But this is my fastest 8-mile EVER. 


So anyway, what on earth does ANY of this have to do with the title of my post? It has EVERYTHING to do with it. You see, I have goals, hopes, dreams, ideas, thoughts, etc… Roughly 30 of them to be exact.


But I’m not going to tell you what they are. I know I know… Okay, I lied, I am going to tell you one of them.


BE TOUGHER ON MYSELF. Yes, be tougher on myself. I know, you’re probably thinking I’m crazy, I work hard already. I do work hard. But, I know I can do better. As you can see it started yesterday. Coachy told me to go out and run 6 one-mile intervals between 8-8:30 mm to prepare myself for my 5k on Turkey Day. I wanted to quit after 4, it was hard, my legs were sore, I was tired. But, I wasn’t about to let me or Coachy down. And I know it’s beneficial to other future goals. The way I felt after that run is the way you should feel after any hard run – speedwork, long runs, etc… starving and spent. And today – sore as hell.


So, the moral of this very blabby story is this:


I have to set goals and stick to them. 


I have to do what I say I am going to do. 


Talk is cheap. Action is everything. I can’t get faster or stronger without working harder (and oh boy are my legs feeling it).


It’s not just fitness, but personal too. Lots to do in this 30th year and I plan on doing it all and making it a great one. Expect to hear LOTS more on this as I accomplish these goals – because I’d rather brag that I did it, than say I’m going to do it then have to report back that I didn’t.


*******************


P.S. Have you signed up for the 30 for 60 Challenge yet? We’ve got about 30 people involved already with 9 days left until it starts. This is going to be a FANTASTIC holiday challenge.  I’m so excited to kick it off! 


Leave a Reply

