Five Things for Friday

21 Nov

Happy Friday friends! I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving, I know I did.


I started by running a 5k Turkey Trot yesterday morning. I was hoping to break 25 minutes (would be ~ 38 second PR for me if I did) but something went terribly awry. My mouth felt like someone stuffed it full of cotton balls and I had a terrible lower abdominal cramp. My Aunt says (she’s a pharmacist) it’s because of a muscle relaxer I took to help me sleep, since my left shoulder is still messed up from the accident.  By the way, the muscle relaxer did the exact opposite of help me sleep, I hardly slept. Oh well, lesson learned.  So I ran a 27:07 which is still a great time (last year at this time I couldn’t break 30 mins). I came in 348 of 1605, which is the top 1/3 of racers.  I’m happy and I have another PR opportunity on December 4th.


So, onto today’s “Five for Friday”.  I stole this from Jess, who posted it last week.  I think it’s a great idea as a little “getting to know me better…”


Five things you didn’t know about me:

  1. My favorite author is Stephen King. I’ve read 90% of his books.
  2. I lived in Iowa for a year. I will never do that again. Honestly, I may never step foot in that state ever again. (Except I may have to for 26.2 miles, if I want to run all 50 states? Damn damn damn.)
  3. I can only swim enough to maybe save my own life, but I want to get into triathlons (I guess I better get my butt to the Y, eh?).
  4. I’m extremely claustrophobic. I rode the subway to a concert in Boston once, the same night as a Red Sox home game. I was freaking out the entire time as I was squished in the middle of the car surrounded by crazed Red Sox fans. 
  5. I used to be good at snowboarding. It is not like riding a bike. Once you stop for a while, it is very difficult to get back into, but I would love to be good at it again.
Five things I’m good at:
  1. Organizing. I love to organize. Clothes, files, jewelry, makeup, you name it. Give me bins, labels, colored file folders, markers, etc. and a pile of stuff to organize. You’d be impressed.
  2. Writing. I never thought I was good at writing, until I started blogging. I enjoy putting my thoughts down, for everyone to read. People who know me in real life have told me that the way I write is the way I speak, which I enjoy hearing because it means that you’re getting nothing but genuine me when you read my blog.
  3. Being a friend. I’d do anything for my friends. My friends mean everything to me and I am always there for them. I’d rather have a few close friends that I can always be there for than a giant pile of acquaintances – that’s how my life is, and I love it.
  4. Running. I may not be a world record setting speed demon, but I consider myself a good runner. I run a lot. I run speed. I run hills. I sometimes run slow. This year I ran 14 races (one more to go) (7 5k’s, 5 half marathons, and 2 full marathons). 
  5. I am disciplined and good at kicking my own ass. I thank Coachy for giving me this one. He’s right. No on else is going to kick my ass for me, so I have to do it (well…Coachy is good at kicking my ass too, but it’s easy for me to blow him off when he lives 1000 miles away. what? who said that?). Not to mention how great I feel after an ass kicking run, or 100 pushups (yup, I did 100 “girly” pushups today). I lost my discipline for a while, but it’s back in full force and I feel fantastic!
Five things I believe in:
  1. I believe that everything happens for a reason. The good, the bad, and the ugly – it’s all happening for a reason, even if we don’t know what it is at the time – or if the reason seems unacceptable at any given moment.
  2. I believe that everyone should have a pet. And by pet I don’t mean a guinea pig or a gold fish – I mean a pet like a dog, or a cat, or some other animal you can interact with. I love my dog, she is the greatest little critter. Pets are loyal, they’re warm, they’re cuddly, they’re great outdoors buddies, I could go on and on and on…
  3. I believe that you should treat others as you want to be treated. Being mean, or rude, or cold will get you nowhere in life. Disrespecting others is unnecessary. I know I don’t like it when people are mean or rude or disrespectful to me – so why would I be that way? *Disclaimer: If I am treated poorly, you bet your ass I will return the “favor.” However, I always try my best to be nice, sweet, polite, and respectful. 
  4. I believe in social media. I have met some of my closest friends this way. I met Coachy this way, I met a whole group of other awesome runner friends this way, I met Steph this way. I’m also planning on meeting so many other people that I know will be great friends and have a major impact in my life, since they already are/do and I don’t even know them in real life yet!
  5. I believe that every woman should have one go to outfit – for a job interview, for a date, for a night out with the girls. Something that makes you feel 100% confident, sexy, yourself. Well, not sexy for the job interview…that may be inappropriate. But you know what I mean. Every woman should have these items at the ready at all times. Who knows when that perfect job or man may show up (or if you have your perfect man…perhaps he surprises you with a fantastic night out, better have that outfit ready). Or a great opportunity to hit the town with the girls. You need that outfit. A great hairstyle, perfect makeup, and accessories are also must haves. 
So there you have it. My five things.

As Jess said when she posted her five things, I challenge you to answer these questions.  They are HARD. I’ve been working on this on and off all day long!

SIDE NOTE: Have you signed up for our 30 for 60 Challenge yet? You have until Wednesday to join me and Coachy, and about 50 others, in this challenge! 
Leave a Reply

