Five for Friday – Fitness Edition

19 Nov

Happy Friday Friends! I’m enjoying a chill evening in the recliner, in my sweats, with a couple of beers. I’m presenting tonight’s post to you in a Five for Friday style, I know a lot of people do this, and I thought it’d be fun because I have this strange for alliteration. Yeah, I know, I’m a weirdo…


Anyway, enough babbling, here we go:


1) Dear Mr. No Armed Elliptical Trainer (aka Lower Body Cross Trainer): I heart you.  My chiropractor told me to take it easy on my shoulder (my left shoulder is tight and has a pretty limited range of motion from the accident, and it goes all the way up into my neck), and Coachy recommended Mr. No Armed Elliptical Trainer to me. So after a boring 30 minutes on the stationary bike, I hopped on Mr. No Arms. I used the program called “Pike’s Peak.” Oh what fun! No, seriously! It was a great lower body workout, without the impact of running, and it felt like it was actually beneficial for my hip! Win, win, win. 


2) It’s 5k season again! For me anyway… Turkey Trot on Turkey Day and then the Jingle Bell 5k in December, and maybe another race on December 11… maybe. I’m really hoping to break 25 minutes, which would be at least a 38 second PR. I’m nervous about it, but I’m feeling strong and speedy lately, and I hope to carry that over to my races. My question for you guys is this:  What is your #1 song for fast, speedy races? Throw ’em at me, if I’m going to break 25 minutes, a kick ass playlist is SO necessary.


3) Can I ask you guys to do me a favor? As the always awesome, beautiful, and oh so fantastic Fitfluential Leader, Kelly Olexa stated “GNC is going to be a HUGE part of FitFluential in 2011 and 2012.” So, here is what I’m asking from you. Can you  please visit GNC Live Well Facebook page (here) and like it. If they can reach 500,000 fans by Midnight on November 27th, they will have the Biggest Cyber Monday EVER. So, can you please like their page? And can you please share this: on Facebook, on Twitter, on your blog? Share it with the hashtag #Fitfluential.  Let’s show GNC some love! 


4) I need some help. Post workout I know how imperative it is to get the proper carb/protein ratio in your body within the first 30 minutes. You may recall that last week I tried mixing my protein powder with just water (gack!). Tonight I tried mixing it with orange juice, which was better, but still not all that pleasant.  I like to have something I can eat/drink in the car, since it’s about a 20-30 minute drive home from the gym. I’m about to start packing peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. What do YOU have post-workout? I know, I have my very own bodily proof, as to how beneficial this is (Sunday’s 10, first long run in a month: I drank one of my protein smoothies directly after and felt GREAT on Monday. No residual soreness, no aches, pains, nothing…)


5) I have only missed one day of working out since I’ve been back in the game (November 9th). That one day was the day of my car accident.  I’m very excited about this.  And, more on that later, there may be some sort of challenge in our future (Coachy and I are scheming…trying to get more peeps more active more often…).


That’s all folks! Enjoy the rest of your Friday! 


Don’t forget: I am SERIOUSLY looking for some ass kicking speedy make you want to MOVE songs for my 5k’s. And LIKE GNC LIVE WELL (Please, if you really do actually like them…I don’t want to force a company on you if you don’t actually like them!).


Leave a Reply

