Kitchen Therapy

12 Nov

I had “one of those mornings.” It was cold when I woke up, I didn’t want to get out of bed, but Lexi wouldn’t let me sleep. My mood was well just okay…and I don’t like to stay grumpy.


What else was I to do but cook? I started my morning by making pumpkin pancakes for me and the brother. Nothing special there, just 1/4 pumpkin and 1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice added to regular pancake batter. They were thick and delicious!


After running around this morning I came home to make two dips for my friend Martha’s birthday party. Her and her twin sister Alayna turned 30 today – we’re exactly a week apart. I love these girls – we’ve been friends since we were 14 years old! I volunteered to bring a couple of hot appetizers to the party.

Ingredients galore

I wasn’t satisfied with the exact recipe of either of the dips I wanted to make, so of course I messed around with them.  


First up: Buffalo Chicken Dip (Modified version of Hungry Girl’s Buff Chick Hot Wing Dip)


Ingredients:

One  10-oz. can chunk white chicken breast in water, drained
One 8-oz. tub cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup Frank’s RedHot Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce
1/2 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt 

1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tsp dill
1 tsp parsley

Directions:

Place cream cheese in a medium bowl and stir until smooth. Mix in Frank’s RedHot, mozzarella cheese, y
ogurt, and spices. Stir in chicken until thoroughly combined. Heat in microwave for approximately 3 minutes, stir, and heat for an additional 2 minutes, until mixture is heated through.


I serve this with Tostito Scoops, and bring it to almost every party I go to, it’s SO GOOD.

Mixing up the ingredients
Ready to be heated then eated (hehe)
Up next: Spinach Artichoke Dip (Modified version of Paula Deen’s Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip)

Ingredients

  • 1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach
  • 1 12 oz jar marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a casserole dish with nonstick spray.
Heat the spinach in a microwave oven on high for 5 minutes and squeeze dry. Drain the artichoke hearts and coarsely chop in a food processor.
Combine all the ingredients except the cheddar cheese in a large bowl. Stir well. Scrape into the prepared casserole dish and sprinkle the cheddar cheese on top. Bake for 30 minutes. 
I plan on serving this with some sort of bread (to be determined as I’m planning on stopping at the Italian bakery on my way out).
Pre-baking
All baked and melty, YUM
And like that my friends, I feel good. I love cooking, especially for some of my very best friends. Now, I’m off for a quick 30-minute yoga session to get loosened up for tomorrow’s long run, and then I’m off to the party.
I hope everyone has an awesome Saturday night!
Leave a Reply

