Disconnecting

9 Nov

Friday morning I shut down my laptop, packed it up in my cute little laptop bag, threw it in my car, and hit the road to NYC.


Tuesday night I took my laptop out of the trunk of my car for the first time.


Aside from the occasional race update or amusing picture tweet, I was entirely disconnected all weekend. I even turned my email sync off on my phone.


And you know what?


It was great. Actually, it was freakin fantastic. I think I should do that more often. I didn’t miss it at all. I had the occasional glimpse of what was going on in the world on a TV I saw, or you know the news ticker at the NBC Studios, but other than that I was just in my own little world enjoying life, without being attached to all of my little gadgets. 


It’s so easy to get caught up in this “instant gratification” world that we live in, that we don’t sit back and enjoy what life really has to offer.


Like …


Actual real life conversation without looking at your phone every 2 minutes. I did this a lot this weekend – I’ll talk to anyone, which I think struck some people in NY as odd, but hey, I like to talk okay? And it was nice to connect with people in real life, rather than through this little box that we all stare at day in and day out. 


The beauty of a fall day in the park.



A quiet, peaceful morning by the water.



Spectating rather than participating in a race.



And of course…being a kid again…

I have so much more to share with all of you about my trip to NYC – But for now it has to wait.  I’m exhausted and I must get up and run in the morning.  (I’m enjoying the early light while I can – I really do loathe the treadmill).


Tell me, when was the last time you disconnected? 






Leave a Reply

