Final Run, Superstitions, and Realizations

13 Oct

Tonight I ran my final run before the Amica Half Marathon on Sunday and it went just as planned.  On the schedule was an easy warm up, two miles at race pace (~9 minute miles), and a cool down.  I averaged a 9:26 pace over the entire run, with the two middle miles both right around 8:58.  Coachy says perfect. Now I rest.


For three freakin’ days. Pardon me while I go crazy. They won’t be complete rest days of course – I need to stay limber, and I plan to do (my favorite) P90X Stretch on Friday morning. But I have very strict no running orders.  If I want to run a sub 2-hour half marathon I have to be running on very well rested legs that are just itching to run. 


So that’s that.  Three days of no running.  


Okay so I’m freaking out a little, even though I know it’s beneficial.  I’ve never actually taken that many days off before a race (not even both marathons – maybe I should have?). 


In other VERY exciting news, I received my bib # today. 


This is very exciting because I’m a little wicked superstitious. Not throw salt over my shoulder if I spill it, and 7 years of bad luck if I break a mirror superstitious.  Maybe superstitious isn’t the right word? I don’t really know…

Case in point.  I have a pair of lucky socks that I wear for every race, and every training run I feel like I may need luck.

I never take this necklace off. Ever. It’s simple and beautiful, and tells me every day what I need to do. 


Run.

And then there’s my lucky number. Which brings me to why my bib number is so important.

1938
I will be bib # 1938 on Sunday.

My lucky number is 19.

19 x 2 = 38 (Woah, I just thought of this one.  Sub 2-hour is my goal – goes right along with my lucky number multiplied by 2…hooooooolllyyy crap)

See a pattern here? 

Plus it’s an even number.  And while I’m not OCD (at least not clinically diagnosed as so…), I have a strange dislike for odd numbers.

All of these items combined tell me one thing:

I am going to get out there on Sunday and I am going to kick ass. End. of. story.

And my final piece of news- the realization in the title – Sunday’s race is also special because it is the last race of my 20’s.  The next time I race will be on Thanksgiving, which is 5 days after I turn 30.  It’s bittersweet, but I’m looking forward to all the improvement, fun, and new adventures I have ahead of me, in my 30’s. 

Are you superstitious? Do you believe in good luck charms, omens, etc?

P.S. Have you entered my giveaway yet? It’s my first ever and it is GOOOOOOOD.  Check it out!






One Response to “Final Run, Superstitions, and Realizations”

  1. Meaghan October 14, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    Hahaha- I'm a total even numbered freak! I get OCD about running superstitions as well, so I totally get it!!

    You ARE going to kick ass this weekend and I can't wait to hear all about it!!

    Enjoy the end of the taper crazies 😉

Leave a Reply

