The Confidence Builder

3 Oct

“Victory’s within the mile, almost there don’t give up now…” Run this Town – Jay-Z & Rihanna


10 Miles

9:17 average pace

9:04 Final Mile while running UPHILL.

Today’s run was straight up incredible. I set out this morning with a goal:  Run 10 miles at my intended half marathon race pace, which is 9:30 pace for a 2:05 half.

Words aren’t really necessary for this run, because if I try, I may just go on and on and on and on…

I started calculating how far ahead of “schedule” I was around Mile 6 – and I was blowing my own mind.  I was at least a full minute ahead of where I had planned to be, so that motivated me to keep pushing. My brain tried to get in my way around Mile 7 – thinking how far ahead I was, trying to convince me it was okay to slow down a bit. I quickly knocked that thinking out with this thought, “You’ve run sub 9:30 every mile for the last 7 – you have 3 to go and suddenly think it’s okay to slow down? I DON’T THINK SO!!!!”

Yelling at myself worked – I kept pushing and ended up with my two fastest miles at Mile 9 and Mile 10.

This run immediately grabbed the attention of Coachy when I told him about it (and posted a pic of my Garmin stats on Twitter):

So I spent my day thinking about a sub-2 hour half – which is a HUGE PR for me.  But Coachy says after two marathons, I’m in peak condition for a wicked Pee-Ahh (That’s PR for those of you that don’t speak Rhode Islandese). 
He then followed up his whip cracking with some words of wisdom (and he’s right – me and the mental game aren’t friends):
So, I’m making it official:
On October 16, 2011 I will be pushing my feet and legs at a 9:09 or better pace for 13.1 miles to break through the 2 hour half marathon goal.

Notice the lack of words in there like “try” or “attempt”. I feel great, and I know I can do it. I will not doubt myself and I will not get inside my own head.
I’d also like to note that we had an amazing “turnout” for our virtual rundate today – 8 people total! We’re on for another one next Sunday, so please Tweet us if you want to join in! 
I hope everyone had a great weekend! Time for me to go relax and get ready to get back on my morning run schedule after some post-marathon time off! 

2 Responses to “The Confidence Builder”

  1. mypinkytoes October 3, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    You can SO sub-two hours! Woohoo!

  2. Lesley @ racingitoff.com October 3, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    Oh, you've got this!!! I had a similar run Saturday, but mine was a 15k… No way I could push that way in a training run. Coachy is totally right. This is in the bag for you!

Leave a Reply

