Listening to your Body

24 Sep

I am exhausted. Even after 8 1/2 hours of sleep last night, I’m sitting on my couch right now (at 8:30 on a Friday) practically falling asleep.

I’ve had this feeling all day. I’ve also had that pain in my foot, coming and going as it pleases, all day long.

After yesterday’s AWESOME run, I thought I was golden to move right into training for the Amica Half Marathon. My body says otherwise.

I discussed this with Coachy today, and he told me to take a rest day. Okay twist my arm. I did argue it a bit, stating how I have another half in 25 days, to which he assured me that he is 100% confident that I will kick that half’s ass.

Okay okay – Coachy’s right.  Body says exhausted, foot says ouchy, time for this:

A couple Advil, my couch, Dexter Season 5, and I’m having a chill night.

The moral of the story is: LISTEN to your body.  If you’re so tired you can’t stay awake at your desk at work, you probably need a break.  Don’t push your limits or you’re going to end up burnt out, overtired, or at the worst, injured.

How often do you listen to your body? Do you know when to keep pushing and when to rest?


Random question: Does anyone’s feet/legs get REALLY hot when wearing compression socks? My feet are burning up right now.


2 Responses to “Listening to your Body”

  1. Jennifer - Somewhere In Between September 24, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I LOVE Dexter!! New season starts next weekend! For me, it's not just compression socks, it's all socks!!

  2. Jolene September 26, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Yes! Listen to your body, totally agree. Mine is getting more rest than I want but I have run twice and one more tomorrow. Hope youfeel better!

Leave a Reply

