Look How Far I’ve Come

15 Sep

Facebook has been pretty irritating to me lately (the designers change stuff almost every day, and unfortunately I am friends with too many unhappy people).  But, what I am liking are the flashbacks – you know, on the right hand side of your screen where it says “On this day in 2010″…

The previous weekend was my first ever 5k that was completed by running all 3.1 miles (35:07 time) and I was planning on another 5k, with an attempt at sub-30 minutes (it didn’t happen, it took me until December with lots of speedwork to break 30 minutes in a 5k).  These times were an all out, I want to stop and walk but I shouldn’t, effort for me.

Now, I go out and run 3 easy miles and it looks a little like this:

And I mean EASY. That was today.  Huge difference. HUGE.

Today was also my FINAL pre Marathon #2 run.

FINAL

That means in 2 days I’m going to be out running for (hopefully) no more than 4 1/2 hours.  Have I mentioned this yet? I must have.  I want to PR, yes.  But I want to run 4 1/2 hours.  That’s a 10:18 pace over 26.2 miles, not including slowing for water stops. But, it’s a marathon and ANYTHING can happen.  So, I’ll be ecstatic with 4:30 or better, but a PR and more importantly, finishing, will still leave me smiling at the finish line.

So in the meantime, I’ve been busy packing (it is SO HARD to fit all of my liquids into a one quart zip top bag). And working on my playlist (kinda) – which may get finished on my flight, I’m FAST running out of time. I have to be up at 3 a.m. on Friday so tomorrow night is pretty well shot – other than my pre-race pedicure so my nails don’t endure any more abuse, they’re already in BAD shape.

That’s all folks!  If you haven’t put your two cents in on my music for my marathon, check it out here:

Driven by Music

And give me some suggestions!

Have a great night all!

Leave a Reply

