Driven by Music

14 Sep

Literally.  About the only time you’ll catch me not listening to music is while I’m sleeping, early morning runs (have to be diligent about listening for vehicles at o’dark thirty), and while watching TV.

But, before I get to that…

I ran my 2nd to last pre-marathon taper run today. *gulp* Is it really that close? Yup, 3 days away.  I wonder if the nerves ever disappear or if pre-26.2 I’ll always be a complete wreck?

The run went a little like this:

Mile 1 and 2 easy peasy.  Mile 3 and 4 at race pace.  I added in striders for the last 1/10 of a mile in Mile 4. Mile 4-4.5 a super slow, uphill cooldown.  It felt good.  Easy EASY 3 miles tomorrow and that’s IT til Saturday.  Oh. my.

Now, back on topic.  Music.  This one came to me today, as I sat in my office, half listening to Pandora, trying to come up with a playlist for Saturday.  Creating a playlist for 4-1/2 to 5 hours of running is tedious work. But I love every second of it.  I love listening to Pandora and my iTunes library for hours on end, trying to find the perfect combination of songs that will keep me rolling and won’t slow me down.

Of course I have quite a few stand by songs – songs that I put on all of my long run playlists because they keep my butt going no matter what, and I love the songs enough that I never ever get sick of them.

Here they are:

Almost all of those songs have a theme to them – a kick ass, rule this run, don’t quit, don’t stop – theme. Or, they’re just super duper energetic and I love them.

I’ve started my Marathon #2 playlist, and it goes a little like this (as well as the songs above):

The two combined only give me about 2 1/2 hours worth of music.  I may or may not need enough music to get me through the whole race.  I have no idea how I’m going to feel on race day, and like I said on Saturday , I have no idea what type of people are going to be in my pace group, so I may want to escape into my own music fueled la la land, keep my eye on the pace leader, and run my ass off.  I want to make sure I have enough music no matter what, last thing I want to do is fuss around with my iPod during the race.

I have a few more songs I know I’d like to add (new Rihanna, Cobra Starship, Gym Class heroes), but other than those, what do you guys recommend.  As you seen by the above songs, I’m open to any genre.  My only requirement is that it be up tempo and have a great running beat.

Ready.

Set.

Go.

PLEASE fill my playlist up for me!


3 Responses to “Driven by Music”

  1. Shelze September 14, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    She's my cherry pie. That I think is a good upbeat song.

  2. Stephanie September 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Alright lady I need to do a playlist post. I will do one on your honor today or tomorrow with lots of music :)thanks for posting your songs I can't wait to go through them

  3. Shelze September 14, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Rolling in the deep by Adelle

Leave a Reply

