Let the Taper Begin

10 Sep

A week from right now I’ll be done gorging myself on pasta and ready to sleep for an early morning and a big day.

YIKES! Marathon #2 IS A WEEK AWAY. I really can’t believe it’s almost here already, where does the time go?

And I’m suffering, big time, from taper madness.

I’m hyper.

I’m irritable.

I am having mystery pains in my knee and my calf.  My knee has me questioning whether I’ll make it through 26.2 miles.

My back ACHES, more than it has in weeks.

Seriously. Whose idea was this?


The thing that’s making all of this worse is that between allergies and work around my house I’ve run 6 miles this week. Yup. 6.

That’s between 12 and 18 less than I ran at this time on a Friday for the past few weeks.  Is it any wonder I’m feeling a little insane?

On the plus side, my house is clean, for the first time in months. I mean really clean – bathrooms, vacuumed up all the dog hair (I could have at least two more dogs with all that hair), I even folded and put away ALL my laundry (and if you know me you know that is a FEAT even more impressive than running a marathon).

I really do need to run though, and if you follow me on Twitter you saw that today.

I’m glad I didn’t run tonight though, I think I would’ve gone crazy and too fast, since I had a TON of extra energy. And I just sat down for the first time all night at 9:15. Phew.
I’ve expended my energy, time to snooze.
Goodnight friends!
2 Responses to “Let the Taper Begin”

  1. Adrienne September 10, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    I'm so glad I'm not the only one that thinks laundry I'd harder than a marathon! Lol good luck next week!!! I look forward to reading about it.

  2. Lauren {sweat junkie} September 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Hey Samantha! I just found your blog and I just wanted to say hi! Good luck with getting through your taper and in your marathon! I am training for my first marathon so I can't wait to read all about your 2nd!

Leave a Reply

