A HUGE Month (Day 17)

1 Sep

Happy hump day friends! Did anyone else happen to notice that fall allergy season seems to be kicking in? Phew, I hope it doesn’t kick my butt too bad. That’s why you didn’t hear from me yesterday – I had a slammin’ headache, staring at a computer wasn’t even an option (sorry!).  It also kept me from my 5 a.m. run wake up call, hill training didn’t sound pleasant when I could feel my head beating behind my eyes.  The extra sleep was nice though!

Luckily the headache wasn’t anything some Mucinex and Advil couldn’t take care of and I was off for Day 3 of “old school” work.  Ever since Hurricane Irene reared her ugly head, a lot of Rhode Island and Southeastern Massachusetts people have been without power.  I am EXTREMELY fortunate at my house, as I mentioned on Monday.  My office didn’t fare so well – power wise. We’ve been running on bare minimum since Monday. I’m enjoying it – no phone calls to answer, no emails to reply to, I can see the top of my desk.  It’s fantastic! My coworkers think I’m nutty, but hey, the generator is powering my computer so I can still get a good amount of my work done! Having no a/c in August isn’t the greatest – but if that’s my only complaint then life’s not so bad, is it?

After work I came straight home to get my run in.  Motivation to run is so much harder when you’ve had all day to think about. Does anyone else think it’s easier to roll out of bed half asleep and just go? On the agenda for tonight: 7 miles with 8 hill climbs.  The miles fly by when you’re doing anything other than straight up running, I love it! I went out for my warm up, just about a mile, and hit the first hill.  Before I knew it all eight climbs had been accomplished, and I had run literally all over my neighborhood. See:

I climbed 693 feet in 7 miles:

Ahh the “Quad Burner” – it felt so good! The best part is every climb was a sub 10mm pace, except for the second to last one, and that was a 10:05.  I think I love hills as much as I love speedwork!

Tonight is exciting all around, not only because I had a strong hilly run, but because

I JUST RAN MY BIGGEST MILEAGE MONTH TO DATE! 

130.28 MILES

It’s also my 6th 100+ mile month in a row! I am SUPER STOKED! I made it through this month without a glitch! Peak marathon training, with only a minor injury scare. My previous record was 113.74 miles, which I set in May. I have two peak training runs left before it’s taper time (I can’t believe Marathon #2 is SO CLOSE!).  Another 6 either tomorrow or Friday (not sure yet after today), and 20 on Sunday. Then it’s time to wind down and get the body ready for a 26.2 mile brutalization!
With that I bid you all a goodnight.  You won’t be hearing from me again tomorrow (sorry for two missed posts in one week!) but I am going to a Patriots pre-season game with some coworkers, on tickets the boss gave us (woot!).  Have a great Wednesday night and Thursday! I’ll be back with a game recap and other antics on Friday!
Question for tonight: What is your biggest workout month? Are you peaking for any big events right now?


4 Responses to “A HUGE Month (Day 17)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com September 1, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    Congrats on such a huge month of running! 😀

  2. Stephanie September 1, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    It is interesting you ask. I record my miles and everything but never really add them up. I don't know just go from one day to the next, will have to check this out!

  3. eatdrinkbreathesweat September 1, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Holy crap, 130 miles in a month?? You are amazing!!! I am so so so impressed!! And secretly would LOVE to kill that many miles in a month. I'm telling you…the whole marathon thing is on my mind a LOT lately. I totally blame you 😉

  4. RunCupcake September 1, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Thanks ladies!

    Steph – I'd be interested to see what you do, probably alot speedy!

    Jess – did you read my post from July on why I'm running a marathon? Im going to write one for you too, about how I was brave enough to sign up in the first place! You should totally do it, if you find one local to do I'll do it with you!

Leave a Reply

