Confessions and a Hurricane (Day 22)

27 Aug

Yesterday turned out to be nothing like I had planned.  I really hate it when that happens! I wrote yesterday how I had woke up dreaming of the elliptical.  So, naturally I made plans to go to the gym directly from work (it’s on the way home) and make that dream come true.

That didn’t happen.  I got to work and realized I had forgotten my sweat towel (not that big of a deal) and my headphones (huge deal). Okay fine, I’ll go home, get my sweat towel and headphones and go to another location, there’s another gym 8 miles from my house.

Then I got home and as I was in my backyard cleaning up after Lexi (such a glamorous life I lead), I noticed a big pile of junk on the side of my shed.  With the threat of Irene making landfall in Southern New England this weekend, and because Friday’s are garbage day, I took the time to drag all of the junk up to the curb.  Oh boy that was fun.

Then I realized it was almost 7 p.m. and I hadn’t had dinner yet.  Well hell, too late for the gym.  I called it off, ate dinner, and cleaned my kitchen and bathroom instead (more glamour).

So I missed yesterday’s workout, and I blame Irene.

This morning I woke up at 5 a.m. for my run and the first thing that crossed my mind;

I know we had thunderstorms last night, cuz they woke me up.  I hope it’s still raining.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?! Apparently I’m not used to my 5 a.m. wake up call yet – I’m yawning as I write this! (It could be the beer, food, and wine…).
It wasn’t raining, so I ran, 4 not terribly glorious miles. I took it slow on purpose (10:30 avg pace) because I have to run long tomorrow (yup, also Irene’s fault – I’m beginning to really not like that beatch). When I got home I realized just how humid it was when it felt like it was raining inside my bra (sexy, right? I know…). It was like running in a sauna.  I fear tomorrow will be much of the same.  Perhaps I’ll sweat out all of this beer (and wine). 
I did take the extra 20 minutes this morning that I wasn’t running (since, ya know, I’m supposed to be running all 6 milers on my non long run days, per Coachy) and stretched super extra good.  I hope it helped, I’m honestly dreading 18 tomorrow.  I’ve missed so many long runs since returning from Marathon Sunday, and now Marathon #2 is THREE WEEKS AWAY! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!
I have good reason for each one…Coachy thinks I’m making excuses but I do! Just look:
  • Sunday after Marathon Sunday (July 17) – Duh, not running long.
  • Sunday after that (July 24) – I climbed Mt. Washington the day before.  Again I say, duh, not running long.
  • And then (July 31) I had PF symptoms on what should’ve been a pre-RnR Providence 10-miler.  Yeah, not risking the price of admission for that one when I know I can run 13 miles.
  • August 7 – RnR Providence Half Marathon
  • August 14 – I tried to run 16 miles.  I ran 8.  It rained, then it rained some more, all the while I was running 8.  Then it started to pour.  I quit.  After running RnR in the rain, and the blisters that followed, I wasn’t playing that ugly game again.
  • August 21 – Set out for 18, managed 15.  Learned that Kinvara 2’s do not make a good long run shoe.  Cut it off early with mega foot pain.
  • August 28 – HURRICANE IRENE. Well, hopefully I will have a successful 18 miler tomorrow.  Keep your fingers (and toes!) crossed for me. 
See, all logical reasons. Right? Right. But, not good when you’re training for another marathon.  Now the pressure is on and I need to whip my butt into shape.
But I’m ready see:
Oh wait, that’s hurricane ready, not long run ready.
Oh well.  I’m ready, 2 beers, 2 glasses of wine, and a delicious dinner from my rents, and I’m ready for that early morning wake up call.  I better get my buns to bed! 
Before I do, some of today’s shenanigans in pictures:
Oh, it’s stretch time? Okay, I’ll join you.
Patio before – now, emptiness.  Everything’s put away and ready for Irene.
Dinner with the ‘rents: ribs, brown bread, beans, salad, and maybe there were 2 glasses of wine too.

Oh good it’s blog time!
What do you mean I can’t help you write? 
Creative juice
That’s all for tonight friends.  No question for this Friday, just a message.
To all of my friends, in real life or in bloggy land, please stay safe and be careful this weekend if you are in Irene’s path.  I hear she’s a real beatch and determined to wreak some havoc.  Stay safe!!!! If it gets bad around here, I’m packing my sh!t up and heading for my ‘rents house.  I won’t be alone then, and I’ll have some hella good food to eat. 😉


2 Responses to “Confessions and a Hurricane (Day 22)”

  1. Stephanie August 27, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    good luck this morning!!! think it is about time to find a running buddy to keep you accountable although all these issues on your long run are totally legitimate. maybe when these things happen you just have to switch around your days like u are doing today. oh well it is so hard and such a learning curve. just have to learn from each experience. good luck!!

  2. RunCupcake August 27, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    It really is a huge learning curve! Im glad that I've gotten the runs in, I know I just have to get better at doing all of them if I want to improve! It'll come in time.

    Maybe Steph when I'm as fast as you I can fun with you!

Leave a Reply

