With Every Failure Comes Success (Day 25)

24 Aug

Week 2 of the 5 a.m. running wake up call is off to a wondaful start! I was up and at ’em this morning for my daily 6.  My legs, however, weren’t quite up for the game. Luckily they weren’t as upset with me as they were last Thursday.

I ran 6 miles in 1:02:35, an average 10:20/mm. Now, I’m relaxing on the couch in my compression socks, blogging and #Fitblog chatting. Phew, multitasker  extraordinaire!

After my run I drank one of my delicious protein smoothies and went through my usual pre-work morning routine.

By 10:30 I was hungry, but what else is new? Yesterday I was excited for an empty peanut butter jar because we all know that means overnight oats in a jar! With all this talk of fall lately, I decided to try a pumpkin spice overnight oats in a jar.

Looks good, right?

Welllllllllllll mega blonde moment.  Pumpkin pie spice has nutmeg in it.  I also added nutmeg.  The result? Gack – mega bad tasting OOIAJ.  I couldn’t even eat them. I have an even better idea for next time.

But, with that failure I had a dinnertime success!  While I was planning my weekly menu I was craving pizza in a bad way.  I went on the search for good pizza recipes I could make at home. I found a great recipe, but modified it because I wanted to grille everything (while I still can – I’m a fair weather griller).

Grilled Chicken Sausage, Tomato, and Spinach Pizza
(Adapted from this recipe I found on Carrots N Cake)


Ingredients:

  • 3 cups baby spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups grape tomatoes (halved)
  • 2 links chicken sausage (I like the  Al Fresco Roasted Garlic Flavor)
  • 1 store bought whole wheat pizza crust
  • 5 slices provolone cheese
  • Salt, garlic powder, Italian seasoning to taste
Directions:
  1. Preheat grille to medium high heat.
  2. Spray a large piece of aluminum foil with non-stick cooking spray and place spinach and tomatoes on top.  Sprinkle with seasonings, to taste. (I did a light sprinkle over the top, which seemed to work perfectly). Cover the spinach/tomato mixture with another piece of foil and fold over all four edges, making a foil pack.
  3. Place the foil pack veggies and chicken sausage on the grille for 10 minutes – flipping the sausages halfway.
  4. While the veggies and sausage are cooking, place your 5 slices of provolone on the pizza crust.
  5. Place the cooked veggies on top of the cheese layer.
  6. Slice the chicken sausage into rounds and place on top of veggie layer.
  7. Place the entire pizza back on the grille for 8 minutes (or until cheese starts to bubble and crust gets crispy).
This was incredibly delicious.  I served mine along side a simple spinach salad, then joined my mom for a post dinner ice cream cone.
All in all a great Tuesday! I’m going to bed tonight with my compression socks on in hopes my legs will care to join me for speedwork tomorrow.
Any success and/or failures lately you’d care to share? Both in the same day like mine?

One Response to “With Every Failure Comes Success (Day 25)”

  1. pb-blair.com August 24, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    That pizza looks amazing!

    Blair

Leave a Reply

