For the Love of Speedwork (Day 24)

24 Aug

I love Wednesday.  Wednesday means SPEEDWORK!

Random fact about me: Speed workouts are my favorite.  Especially intervals. And short (5k or so) tempo runs.

Call me crazy if you must, but there’s something about pushing your body to it’s absolute limits that is just so rewarding.

Today’s workout went a little like this:

  • Mile warmup @ 9:48
  • 8 x 1/4 mile @ 7:36 average pace (I kept my intervals between 7:25 and 7:45, and they averaged out around 7:36)
    • Side note: I rebel against the norm when it comes to using meters.  We don’t use the metric system in the U.S., my Garmin doesn’t measure my distance in metric, why the hell would I plan my workouts on metric measurements? Miles it is thankyouverymuch.
  • Between speed intervals I jogged/walked (mostly jogged which makes me SO EXCITED because I was recovering from the speedy portions quickly) 8 x 1/4 mile recovery intervals which averaged out to approximately an 11:35 average pace
  • 1.16 mile cooldown in 14:18 (cooooooooooooldown – jogging, some walking – my legs were done)
The whole run was 6.16 miles in 1:02:41 which is an average 10:11 pace overall.  It felt especially good today because I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to run the intervals today, since my legs weren’t happy about yesterday’s recovery run.  I guess that’s why they call it recovery. (Sing to the tune of Elton John’s I Guess that’s why they call it the blues, come one now, you know you wanna…)
Then today, after that killer workout, I saw these posts: 

Back then I was 18 days away from my first 5k as an official runner, and 26 days away from what I was determined to be my first sub-30 5k (it wasn’t, it was over crowded and poorly organized – oh and the finish line was UPHILL). So, I knew I had to do speedwork, but I had no idea what I was doing. I ran both races non-stop, no walking, and that was a feat for me so I was happy with that.
I look at myself now and I’m pretty well stoked. I love finding old posts to remind me of where I came from.  It makes you feel good!

I was going to write about speedwork and all the stuff Coachy has taught me, but I got a little tangentalized tonight.  I’ll save it for another time. (Sorry, Coachy, I know you rushed to make sure that e-mail said everything you wanted to say, just be sure to know that I WILL USE IT! Soon! I promise!).

It’s only 8 p.m. and I’m ready for bed. 5 a.m. tomorrow again, recovery run, most likely.  I’m sure I’ll have ten million pound legs.

Now I’m off to chill with my crazy little pooch and an early bedtime so my beat up legs can heal!

Do you like speedwork? What is your favorite workout (running or otherwise)?


Leave a Reply

