When 18 Becomes 15 (Day 27)

22 Aug

Today was my third to last long run before Marathon #2.  I set out at 8:30 this morning (probably a little too late for a hot summer day!) to run 18 miles.

My legs felt sore and tired when I first started out, but they loosened up, and the first 8 miles went well,  and I was able to stay within my planned pace (10:30/mm).  I was fueling every 4 miles (sport beans) and hydrating with water and Gatorade. It was getting warm, so since I had run to the bike path (which is shady), I stayed on it longer than I had originally planned.

By Mile 9, things started to go downhill. Suddenly the arches of both feet hurt. My legs felt a tad tired, but it wasn’t anything I couldn’t push through.  I slowed down for Mile 9 and 10, but I couldn’t keep it up.  I made it home by Mile 11, and my feet were killing me.  I swapped my Thorlo’s for compression socks, since my shins were feeling a bit twingey too.  That didn’t do anything for me.  I’ll continue to wear my compression socks for recovery only (plus they’re way too hot to run in).

The next 4 miles were a brutal hell.  I ran, I walked, I thought I was feeling better, then it would hurt again.  I didn’t want to quit, I hate quitting, but I had to. I managed to get 15 miles in, at an 11:34 pace (1:04 slower than my intended pace!).

I learned today that my Kinvara 2’s are not long run shoes. I thought they’d be great, my original Kinvara’s were, I wore them for every race before retiring them. I did wear the Kinvara 2’s for my first marathon, but I now recall having foot pain during the race, and after.  I will not be wearing the Kinvara 2’s for long runs anymore, I’m not sure what changed when they did the redesign, but I don’t like it.  They’re great for shorter runs, so I’ll stick with that.  I also have a pair of Asics Tarther Diva, which I’ve worn for both an 18 miler and a 20 miler, with no problem, so these are now my official long run shoe. No worries, no problem, 18 miles on tap for next Sunday. And I’m getting out of the house earlier (I have a serious problem getting up early on weekends, and running long, unless it’s a race day!).

By the way ladies, if you’re looking for a new lightweight running shoe that is not minimalist, go with the Asics Tarther Diva (this is strictly my opinion – although, if Asics wants to hire me to review shoes I’d gladly take the job). They’re light, they’re comfy, and I feel GREAT running in them.

Today wasn’t all bad, even with a so-so run.

I HAVE OFFICIALLY RUN MY FIRST 1000 MILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
From my very first run, to today, I have run 1,014.65 miles.  That’s one year and three month’s worth of running! It feels so great to have broken through, and I’m certain it will take me much less time to reach 2000! 
Did you run long today?  How far? How did it go?


3 Responses to “When 18 Becomes 15 (Day 27)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com August 22, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I have to catch up with my long run that I missed over the weekend. Congrats on the 1000 miles! Very impressive!

  2. Gillian August 22, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I ran long yesterday – I'm running a half in October so “long” was only 8 yesterday – but it went well! I love a good Sunday long run. Congrats on the 1000 – that's awesome!

    http://thatsg.com

  3. iheartvegetables August 23, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Oh my gosh that's AMAZING!!! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

