Welcome Back Old Friend (Day 29)

20 Aug

5 a.m. came way too fast this morning.  For some reason I saw every hour from midnight until 5 a.m. last night, so I decided with it being Friday and all that I could bump my run to tonight and allow myself a little extra “sleep.”


I held true to the deal I made with myself a pushed out an excellent run when I got home from work:


5.86 Miles
56:12
9:35 average pace


When I have easy-ish days on the schedule that aren’t speed days, I like to concentrate on doing something other than just running. Tonight’s goal was to maintain pace up all of my hills and work on negative splits.  Mile 1 and Mile 2 were identical in time, but I negative split the rest, finishing at a 9:14 pace.  I’m happy with that! I don’t normally run on Friday, but I’m working a new schedule that Coachy and I developed this week.


Earlier in the week I had a “6-mile epiphany” – meaning, I realized that 6 miles is not hard for me anymore. Somedays it’s not easy (like yesterday), but most days it’s not hard.


Then I had another epiphany.  I consulted the McMillan Running Calculator out of curiosity, to see what he thought my marathon time should be.  I based it on two of my best races, and this is what I came up with:


Best 5k (25:32) = Marathon Time of 4:08:55
Best Half Marathon (2:10:13) = Marathon Time of 4:34:38


Woah, huge difference right? Coachy concluded that I can run fast, but I don’t have endurance (well, I do, just not fast over long distance endurance).  Between the two of us we decided I need to build that endurance – so I can reach my marathon time goal of 4:30.  I have 4 weeks left to build up.


The new plan calls for 4 runs x 6 miles, Tuesday through Friday.  Saturday off of running – yoga or long stretching session, then Sunday long run.


I did 3 runs x 6 miles this week, and plan on 18 miles for Sunday.


My legs feel great now, but that could also be because I welcomed back and old friend today. 

The protein smoothie! I have been craving one of these for SO LONG.  When I realized that the protein powder I normally buy has everything I need to help repair my muscles after a run, I immediately got my butt to the store and bought a jug.


So what’s in it?


Sam’s Super Smoothie

  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Whey Protein 
  • 1 Cup Frozen Fruit (Frozen mixed berries this time, but it works with just about any fruit – pineapple makes it taste like a sinful treat)
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Cup Orange Juice
  • 1/2 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt
I use frozen fruit, instead of fresh fruit and ice, so that the flavor doesn’t get diluted.  This smoothie is so delicious, and great for a post run replenishment.  According to the bottle of whey protein:

    Supplies a high nutritional value including naturally occurring glutamine and branched chain amino acids (BCAA) to athletes. 


    Glutamine serves as fuel for the immune system, provides an anti-catabolic effect and is involved in protein synthesis. Prolonged high-intensity exercise can decrease glutamine levels.BCAA are essential aminos that are part of muscle protein, they help to preserve muscle glycogen stores and help reduce the amount of protein breakdown during exercise. Whey also yields a high biological value, which measures usable grams of amino acids that are used by the body after intense exercise.

I’m looking forward to implementing these drinks into my daily diet! They’re so delicious and great for my body!


Have you had any training epiphanies lately? Anything you do after a run or workout to help refuel and repair your body?



    2 Responses to “Welcome Back Old Friend (Day 29)”

    1. MotherRunner August 21, 2011 at 1:56 am #

      Hey, I'm in the same boat as you! I have the speed to get to my half marathon goals, but not the endurance. Can't wait to hear how it goes for you!

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Protein Smoothie Inspiration | 30 Something Mother Runner - March 5, 2012

      […] Sam’s Super Smoothie […]

    Leave a Reply

