When Life Hands You Lemons…(Day 30)

19 Aug

You curl up in a ball on the couch and cry into your beer and chips, right? Crave pizza? McDonald’s? Taco Bell? (I really did debate getting one or all of those foods – my cravings are whacky and completely out of control when I stress – sometimes I just can’t say no).

Before I get to that, today was Day #2 of 5 a.m. running wake up calls.  And I had success.  I said yesterday I was going for an easy run, well the only thing easy about this run was my breathing.  I felt like I was wearing concrete shoes and 1,000# weights on my legs.  But, I put one foot in front of the other for another 6 miles. It was hard, the time seemed to drag on forever, and the miles ticked by in slow motion. I didn’t want to keep going – but I remembered what Coachy told me yesterday:

“If it’s hard and you want to quit, slow down, don’t cut the mileage.”

He’s a wise man. So, I ran 6 miles in 1:05:51.  Boy was I glad when that was over. After stretching and showering (96% humidity today – phew, that makes for a sweaty run) I made myself a new (to me) sandwich for breakfast:
PBJ&B Does a body good!
By the time lunch rolled around my legs were revolting.  Being a runner and an office manager do not go well together – too much time spent on my arse. So I went for a walk on my lunch break.  1.2 miles in 20 minutes and it felt great. I realized when I returned from my walk that my emergency gym bag is in my car and I could’ve put on sneakers rather than flip flops. Whooooooooooops. I’ll remember that for next time (I hope). 
The rest of the day was uneventful, after all, it’s work – and it’s construction – not too exciting. 

So what made me want to cry in my beer and gorge on chips? Well,  my night started a little like this:

I was out for my usual post work fetch session when my poor sweet little Lexi got stung by a bee.  20 minutes later she was so sick I had to take her to the emergency vet clinic.  She’s fine (thank goodness!), she just had to have some shots of antihistamine and such…my wallet, well not so fine.  Such is the life of a dog owner, eh? I’m just happy that she’s okay, and it was a slight allergic reaction.  Next time, though, I may try Benadryl first.

So, instead of crying and gorging on beer and chips what did I do? I drank a beer and ate some chips while listening to 90’s music (holy middle/high school flashbacks!) and cleaned up around the house, my original plan for tonight. I also celebrated – with the bad comes the good, yes? I never use the passenger side of my car, so when I went around to get Lexi out I saw something blue under the seat.  What was it? Why it was my favorite missing water bottle! YAY! I am obsessed with reusable water bottles (I have at least 6, if not more – more on that another day) – and was none too happy when I lost my fave bottle! It’s been found, all is right in the my world.

I couldn’t let a sick dog and a large vet bill bring me down – I’ve been working hard all week on focusing on the positive.  I’m very good at letting myself get down in the dumps and ruining my entire day on myself.  Literally.  Then I break out, drink excessively, eat excessively, mope, and get lazy (maybe not all at the same time).  It’s ugly.  I decided to change that this week – I’ve even been “selectively Facebooking”.  Have you ever noticed how people either put their entire life story on Facebook, or all of their misery? I don’t like it, as I’m sure many don’t.  So now I’m picking and choosing what I read, I feel better already! And Twitter has officially taken over my #1 most visited website. The people of Twitter are so much more supportive, amusing, and just plain awesome, than Facebook.

Yes, beer and chips were really my dinner. Who knows, maybe some ice cream later.  Okay so I was too hungry for just the beer and chips – I started writing this before my belly figured that out.  Then I realized I have another 6 to run in the a.m. so I can’t fuel on beer and chips.  Lucky for leftovers – I still had another serving of Mama Pea’s Pea Daddy Jambalaya leftover.  I’m pretty sure you can only get this recipe in her book, Peas and Thank You, so I can’t provide a link to it here.

I’m chowing down on that right now as I write to you, my beautiful fans.

And now, I must go try to finish reading my book, Marshall’s on his last day of running, I need to finish!

I leave you with this beautiful piece of art (or eye candy as the case may be).  Guys, sorry, this one’s for the ladies:

This is the best song I heard tonight on the 90’s channel – and I can’t believe it came out when I was 10.  Ahh, Marky Mark…

One more thing:

My page is officially going under construction.  I need to add stand alone pages – I realize that you probably don’t know much about me, my races, etc… so I will be adding all of that in the coming weeks! Stay tuned! 

Questions for the night:


What do you do when you stress or have a bad day? Eat? Drink? Scream, kick, cry? Try to focus on something that makes you happy? All of the above?



What is one of your favorite throw-back songs? 


4 Responses to “When Life Hands You Lemons…(Day 30)”

  1. Stephanie August 19, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    Ooo dear sorry it was such a hard night. Glad u r focusing on the positive! And yay for powering through those hard runs and not giving up. Good for you!

  2. p_salisbury August 19, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    really? you “drank a beer and ate some chips while listening to 90's music (holy middle/high school flashbacks!)” in middle school? I don't think I was such a bad mother that you were drinking beer in middle school 🙂

  3. RunCupcake August 19, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Oh mommy you're such a comedian!

  4. Lapetitemort August 19, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I'm with you on the drink beer, eat chips and cry.
    My songs are a little further to throw back than yours but With or Without you still will choke me up every now and then. Or even Cyndi Lauper's Time after Time… ~sigh~

    Sorry about your bad day, but you are seriously rocking it!!

    LPM

Leave a Reply

