Early Mornings and Birthday Parties (Day 31)

18 Aug

I DID IT! I DID IT! I got up at 5 a.m. and I RAN! The best part is that I had planned an easy day, and it turned into a tempo run because I felt great (weird for 5 a.m.).

The worst part – 93% humidity. I forgot the mornings are more humid than the evenings, but when it’s 60 degrees and not 90 degrees I can’t complain.  Hopefully this just helps shape up my lungs for cooler weather!

My run:

The first 5 miles averaged to a 9:06 pace.  Coachy is all excited – he wants me to run all my tempo runs at sub -9mm miles now.  Sounds scary, but I know I can do it. The last mile was a cool down, up that giant mountain back to my house (hah it’s like 100′ of elevation gain, but after 5 fast miles it feels like a mountain).

I’m glad I got up and got that done this morning.  I felt more energized throughout the day, and I was able to enjoy tonight’s festivities without missed workout guilt!

It’s my step-dad’s birthday today, so we had a little family cookout at my parents house!

The usual suspects…

Complete with the usual cookout treats:

Anyone else put pickles on their hot dog? My mom thought it was strange.  It’s just unchopped relish. 

I did not eat all of that, I shared half of my burger with this handsome devil:

Zach – my parents dog

Isn’t he the cutest 90 pound lapdog ever?

He loves me.

Then I ate my weight in dill pickle chips and supplemented them with a Corona.

If only they were fried…

After that of course it was time for ice cream cake:

And trick candles…except I can’t trick Keith.  He knew right away. It might’ve been my mother ANNOUNCING from the kitchen that she could run with the cake and the candles wouldn’t have gone out.

NAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH That can’t be it.  

It was a great birthday celebration, and now I must be off to bed for another 5 a.m. wakeup call! 6 easy (for real) this time tomorrow morning!

How was your Wednesday? Anything fun and exciting happen? Are you an animal spoiler extraordinaire like me?


2 Responses to “Early Mornings and Birthday Parties (Day 31)”

  1. Stephanie August 18, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Congrats! Yayy you totally can do sub 9 I am happy to help! We need to find a meeting time lol

  2. phillynerdgirl.com August 18, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    My Wed was pretty uneventful. I crunched some data I generated at work, then when I went home I heated soup for the bf bc he was still pretty sick (I made him sick, ooops!). I did bake some bangin' mini doughnuts thanks to Oh She Glows that the coworkers are now devouring. 🙂 Your parents dog is such a handsome man, I can't wait til we can get one! And awesome job on those splits!!!

Leave a Reply

