Getting Organized Part 2 (Day 32)

17 Aug

A couple weeks ago I wrote a post about getting organized while fitting in all of my training. Since then I have tried a couple of approaches:

  • Get up at 5:30 and do work around the house while sipping coffee.  This turned into getting up no earlier than 5:45 and perusing blogs, Twitter, and Facebook while sipping coffee, until I realize “oh sh!t – It’s 6:30! Shower time.” Or just sleeping until 6:30.
  • Getting the work done on the weekends.  That hasn’t happened. At all.
Tonight while driving home I realized I have to workout in the morning tomorrow, because it’s my step-dad’s birthday tomorrow night so I’ll be hanging with the ‘rents for dinner and cake instead of working out after work. Which sent my poor little blonde brain a-spinning.  Thoughts like, “If I run tonight, my next run will be less than 12 hours away.  I’m trying to peak for a marathon, am I risking injury?” and “There’s still so much to do around the house, when will you get it done?”
This led to the only logical conclusion.  I must workout in the morning.  I did it from September-May while I was in school, why did I stop? Oh yes, because I love to sleep.
“Well, why don’t you just go to bed earlier?” you may be thinking.  I’m a night owl. According to my mother I was one of those kids that didn’t want to go to bed because I was afraid I might miss something – well that’s gotta still be lodged in my brain, because I hate just shutting down and going to bed at say, 10.  It’s usually closer to 11, or later. And then, 5:30 comes, and I laugh, reset the alarm, and snug back up in my bed (much to Lexi’s dismay – she’s up and hyper as soon as the alarm starts ringing).
I also love to tell the story the long way around – and I make fun of my brother for doing that.
Back on task…working out in the morning. I know I feel guilty if I skip workouts.  I don’t feel guilty if I skip scrubbing my toilet. The toilet will be there tomorrow, my 100+ mile month streak won’t be if I don’t run, my marathon goal won’t be accomplished if I don’t run – but I pretty sure at Mile 20 I won’t be stressing if the bathroom isn’t clean or the office isn’t dusted. So, when the alarm rings at 5 a.m. tomorrow I will be up getting dressed and lacing up my running shoes. Wish me luck. 6 miles sounds daunting at 5 a.m.
I will still stress, however, if my house isn’t clean.  So… now I will save my evenings for that crap stuff. So far tonight I have:
Played fetch

Cooked enough Jambalaya to feed a small army

Emptied and reloaded the dishwasher (no pic, that’s far from exciting)
Taken out the recycling
Cut up berries for snacking on during the week

And I still plan on getting my running gear ready, packing my lunch/snacks for tomorrow, and taking the dog for a walk around the block!  These things didn’t happen due to computer/internet problems.  Oh well, can’t do it all! 
Wow, I feel accomplished!
Have you ever had that moment of clarity where you realize you’re just doing it all wrong? And suddenly it comes to you? I’m feeling pretty good about all of this right now!


3 Responses to “Getting Organized Part 2 (Day 32)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com August 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    The internet zaps a tons of my time, too. I am such a slacker on house cleaning lately. I can motivate myself to run, or go to yoga, but clean the bathroom? No thank you! 😉

  2. Stephanie August 17, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    So happy you are getting things together. It can be so hard. I am the opposite, morning gal but I run around like crazy. I have no problem getting in the run it is after that I kind of putz around always making me late..oops!

  3. RunCupcake August 18, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    HAH Stephanie, I do that too. Upload my Garmin stats, post my run in my training calendar, etc…

Leave a Reply

