Happy Monday (Spreading the Love – Day 33)

16 Aug

Today looked like this:
Rain, rain, go away!
All. Stinkin. Day.
So, in between bouts of actual work,  I came up with the idea to share with you  what I am loving on this Monday! Given how much I am not a fan of Monday (especially damp, dreary Monday’s like today)– I think I may make this an ongoing theme, and start the week off on the right foot!
Monday Love #1 – Rest Days
I decided to make Monday my rest day.  It used to be Friday, but working out on Friday is probably a good idea considering I tend to indulge on the weekend.  Now, it’s Monday.  Starting..well…now. Coachy was busting my chops about taking a rest day (what else are coaches for? amiright?)– but I know me, if I don’t give myself a day off then all of this working out and running will end up feeling like too much work, and I’ll get discouraged/exhausted/pissed off/etc… I don’t want that. So, one day a week off it is, because rest days keep me happy! More than likely a rest day doesn’t constitute me sitting on my butt on the couch either – tonight I cooked up a storm until 9 p.m.!

Monday Love #2 – PinkBerry

I found out today that there are 2 Pinkberry shops in RI.  One of them is less than 10 minutes from my house. Why I’m not there right now is beyond me, maybe I’ll go there when I’m done writing this.
Monday Love #3: Guilty Pleasure TV
This was a topic of conversation on last weeks Fitblog – well all guilty pleasures – but TV shows came up a lot.  The general consensus for a LOT of people was Jersey Shore…weeeeellllll reality tv doesn’t really do it for me (and Pauly D is an embarrassment to the state of Rhode Island).  Coming in close after Jersey Shore was a fave of mine, Pretty Little Liars. I love this show, it’s fun to watch to escape being a grown up for a while.  I’m also looking forward to The Lying Game, which premieres tonight! Another teeny bopper, adulthood escape show.  The book is written by the same woman who wrote Pretty Little Liars, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it in all of its petty, gossipy, over the topness. (And am I really old? Because all I can think when I watch these shows is “I did NOT dress like that when I was in high school!”)
Monday Love #4: Trying new recipes
I made “Spaghetti with Spinach in White Wine Garlic Sauce” out of my Skinny Bitch cookbook tonight.  It was good, but, I used canned spinach because I had it on hand. I don’t know why, I don’t typically eat canned veggies, but anyway…I will be making this recipe again with fresh spinach because I know then I will be able to say it was GREAT not just good.
Gotta love cooking with wine! 

Once I’m done eating my dinner I also plan to make Mama Pea’s Baked Oatmeal Squares and some blackbean hummus (thanks for the suggestion Jason!).
I love trying new food.  On tap for the rest of this week:
  • ·         Pea Daddy’s Jambalaya (Only with chicken sausage, because I’m not vegan or vegetarian – I really just enjoy meat too much) (Peas and Thank you)
  • ·         Greek Salad with Tzatziki Sauce (Skinny Bitch)
  • ·         Masoor Daal {Split Red Lentils} (Skinny Bitch)

If I modify any of these recipes enough to make them my own, I’ll share! Don’t get your hopes up though – I save my experiments for the weekends when I have more time.
Monday Love #5: Upbeat Songs with a Positive Message

This song by Andy Grammer is perfect for when you’re feeling down, or having a bad day.  Listen, you will feel instantly better! 


You could say I’m a little in love with these lipglosses.  That is a picture taken on my kitchen counter, not an ad for Victoria’s Secret Lip Gloss.  Someone should probably take my VS credit card away (Mom, if you’re reading this – I’m not serious).
I think I may need a lipgloss intervention.
They are so shiny and delicious tasting! How can you not love that?! Some of the flavors are stronger than the others – my faves are cherry bomb (very maraschino cherry), yummyberry (just flat out fruity and delicious), and sugar high (can you say cake flavor on your lips – ALL. DAY. LONG).  I’m certain I will never use another lip gloss brand again.

Well that does it for this edition of Monday Love! 

What are you loving right now?


2 Responses to “Happy Monday (Spreading the Love – Day 33)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com August 16, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I love VS lip gloss! I own a ton of tubes as well. 🙂 Right now I am loving the impending arrival of my new Garmin GPS watch. SO excited to go on runs with it!

  2. chocolate-cheese-and-wine.com August 16, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I am loving OPI! For some reason I just love nail polish. Your spaghetti looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

