That Was Interesting (Day 34)

14 Aug

I was so excited when I woke up yesterday morning.  I was going to run 16 TRAIL miles! I was going to become one with Mother Nature. I was going to enjoy the peace that is the woods, with no iPod and no distractions.

I got up at 7, it could’ve been earlier I’m sure, but I was tired and I really REALLY dislike getting up at 5 a.m. ever – nevermind on a Saturday. I was out of the house a little after 8, headed to my destination.  I reached my destination around 9 – threw on my backpack with all my fuel and water, and away I went.

I hadn’t gotten very far when I realized just how annoying the back pack is, no matter how much I tightened it, there was way too much bouncing going on!

Then, I couldn’t find the trail.  According to the printout it was 0.4 miles from where I parked.  I went farther than that, there was no powerline, no white trail markings, nothing. Frustrated and a little scared for my life (the road I was running on was a narrow country road with no shoulder), I turned around and headed back to the car.  I figured I could drive further down the road, and hopefully find the trail.

I drove, and I drove, and I found nothing. Ugh.

I decided to drive to a wildlife sanctuary on the map, perhaps I could run from there.  I walked in and asked the woman if they allow running.  She said “Yes, but you do so at your own peril.” PERIL? REALLY? Okay, no thanks.

I was about ready to drive home and call it a day, save my legs for Sunday long run day.  But I was already dressed, fueled, and ready to go.  Saturday’s are normally scheduled for 6 or so miles anyway.  I had run two on the narrow scary road trying to find my trail, so I only had four more to go.

I drove to a local wooded bike path and found it to be quite peaceful on a mid-Saturday morning.  I left my camera in the car but managed to get a few good shots with my phone:

Quiet and peaceful with no one else around
Cute little bridge connecting a dirt road to the actual path
The path goes along the side of , then under this bridge next to the river
Ooooh a dirt path! Not very long, but still felt nice.
This path goes through old mill neighborhoods

 I did 4 slow, easy miles, and called it a day.  I was kinda happy after that.  I got my run in but I was really looking forward to trying trail running.

Time to do some more research I suppose and figure out exactly where I was supposed to be.

What do you do when your workouts don’t go as planned?


4 Responses to “That Was Interesting (Day 34)”

  1. Jason August 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I do exactly as you did. Figure it out and get something done. Never bail on a workout and just reduce if necessary. I know after all is said and done that I will regret not doing the work as opposed to a shorter workout.

    Way to get those 6 in.

  2. phillynerdgirl.com August 14, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I hate when a planned workout doesn't go as such. The other weekend I was all set for a track run only to find out when I got to the high school the track was closed. I ran through the town instead which wasn't bad and I got the mileage done. The pics look so pretty!

  3. RunCupcake August 14, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I was set for a track workout a couple weeks ago too – only to get there and find out the track team was practicing! So, I drove to the bike path and did my intervals there instead!

  4. Christine August 14, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    oh man – i know this feeling. i used to bring directions on post its that i could barely read ha ha. it's probably why i stick to the same routes and paths. but as i learned this weekend, i was missing out on discovering a great path nearby! ugh!

    glad you were able to get some good miles in! the bike path looks idyllic!

    xo. christine of these happy miles

Leave a Reply

