Tempo Thursday (Day 36)

12 Aug

Did anyone else think this day was never going to end? It was 80 degrees and 36% humidity. Could you really ask for a better day in August? That’s got to be why it dragged so much booty.

When I was creating my training schedule for the next few weeks, I struggled over what to do with Thursday. My regularly scheduled programming used to look a little like this:

  • Monday: Yoga or core
  • Tuesday: Recovery run from long Sunday run
  • Wednesday: Speedwork
  • Thursday: Recovery from speedwork 
  • Friday: More yoga or core or some sort of intensive stretching
  • Saturday: Easy run (to keep legs limber for long run)
  • Sunday: Long run
Now, naturally, this is all subject to change due to weather and whatever life may throw at you.  Do you see the problem with this schedule?  Three out of five runs are EASY. WTH? How do you train on three easy runs? You don’t.  Well – at least I DON’T.

So, I sat and stared at my training calendar (mind you, this was after running a half in the pouring down rain and I was exhausted). And I stared some more. Then I put it down and watched TV. Then I stared some more.  Then I texted Coachy – “Where do you fit in a tempo run on this schedule?” So, now you may be asking why if I have Coachy am I creating my own training schedule? Well, he thinks I’m smart enough to figure it all out on my own, and he’ll be here for questions and moral support.  That works for me, I’m an independent person, and I like it when people tell me I’m smart. 
This is what I came up with, and it got the Coachy Seal of Approval:
  • Monday: Yoga or core
  • Tuesday: Recovery run from long Sunday run
  • Wednesday: Speedwork
  • Thursday: Mid-pace tempo run.  Not easy, but not speedwork hard.
  • Friday: More yoga or core or some sort of intensive stretching
  • Saturday: Easy run (to keep legs limber for long run)
  • Sunday: Long run
So now I only have two easy runs, a long run, a hard run, and a middle of the road run.  Much better. And that, my friends, brings me to tonight’s run.
My goal was to run 4 miles between 9-9:30 and that is exactly what I accomplished.  The first 4 miles were run in exactly 37 minutes, giving me a 9:15 overall pace.  The last 0.45 was a walk up the mountain of a road back to my house – why do I do that to myself? 
My legs felt great throughout the run, but are thoroughly exhausted now.  I’ll treat them to a nice super duper stretchy session tomorrow.  My lungs weren’t all that happy with me – but as long as I can breathe and my legs feel good, I push myself through unhappy lungs.  They’ll come around to my way of thinking one of these days, I’m sure of it. 
In other news – today was Carb Thursday instead of it being tomorrow. Mother Nature has some sort of personal vendetta against me and running on Sundays.  Whatevs, I’ll show her, I know how to rarrange my schedule.  So I carbed up today instead.  Did you know that Basic 4 cereal has 44g carb in ONE CUP?! Holy moly!

And now it’s Friday – I was so tired from Speedwork Wednesday and Tempo Thursday that I couldn’t even finish writing this last night! I’m looking forward to an easy stretch session and rest tonight, and MY FIRST EVERY TRAIL RUN TOMORROW!!

What are you excited for this weekend?

Leave a Reply

