Wicked Awesome Wednesday (Still Day 37…)

11 Aug

So I know I posted yesterday’s workout today and now I’m going to talk about what I did for a workout today and I called it all Day 37.  You follow? If not, it’s okay, I’m blonde – I don’t follow a lot.


Today was a Wicked Awesome Wednesday. 

Wicked Awesome Thing #1



total suckup wicked awesome subcontractor for the company I work for brought in some fresh pastries from some Italian bakery. 

So glad I only ate half – it was filling and gave me a mega sugar crash at about 2:30, where I was literally nodding off at my desk.  It was worth every.last.bite.

Wicked Awesome Thing #2

Yesterday, Beth from Shut Up and Run! wrote a post about what she plans to do now that she completed her Half-Ironman (in a freakin’ awesome time, totally wicked amazing).  She told her readers about how she had just become a member of Team Refuel  and proceeded to share with us how we could try to become members of the team too! After reading all about the grants that they are offering I decided to apply.  Today I received this e-mail:

Thank you for submitting your application for a Refuel Grant. Your application has qualified and will be posted to the refuel grant voting page starting August 15 at 5pm Eastern time. You will receive additional information about the voting process in the coming weeks.

Starting on Monday I am going to be turning to you, my readers, as well as harassing my friends and family to vote for me! So – take a sharpie, and write it on your hand, or your forehead, dog, cat, kid, whatever – starting Monday you can vote for me and you can vote EVERY SINGLE DAY! I will love you forever if you can take the time to help this girl out!

Wicked Awesome Thing #3

Ever since last night’s Fitblog chat on Twitter I have been gaining readers and followers like crazy.  I feel like a super cool kid.  Thanks for reading everyone, I love that there are people out there interested in what I have to say. 

Wicked Awesome Thing #4

Tonight’s run. Wednesday is speed day on my schedule (as it is for many others I’m learning). Coachy told me early in the game to switch it up every week – intervals, fartleks (that word makes me giggle), tempo, etc… I had originally planned to run a 4 miles at an 8:45 pace (after my warm up of course).  I quickly changed my mind when the threat of thunderstorms threatened to put a damper on my run in the first place! I decided mile repeats it would be! Well… Coachy told me since they were going to be intervals I had to do them faster.  He wanted me to go faster than my best 5k pace (which is 8:15) but I have done speedwork twice in as many months, so I wasn’t having it.  We negotiated and landed at 8:30 – I told him I could do that. It was still 85 degrees out and due to the thunderstorms the humidity was creeping up. So I placed a water bottle in a convenient place in my yard and headed out.  It went a little like this:
  • Mile 1 (Warm up): 9:44 (I’m still blown away that my warm up / easy pace is now below a 10mm)
  • Mile 2: 8:25 
  • Mile 3: 8:29
  • Mile 4: 8:18 (I’m a firm believer in a strong finish!)
  • Mile 5 (Cool down): 15:40 I went back home and got Lexi and took her for the last mile so she could get her puppy exercise for the night – so my cool down ended up being a walk.
I love it when I set out with what I think are lofty goals and execute them so well.  It truly helps build my confidence. The only goal I didn’t accomplish tonight was I set out to do 4 repeats and only ended up with 3.  My left shin started to get that shin-splinty feel to it, my guess is because of my lack of speedwork recently, and I can’t risk injury.  

I came home and stretched immediately, then iced my sore spot.  It feels great now, hopefully it stays that way!

Well this girl has all the wicked awesomeness she can handle for one day – I hear my bed and my book calling my name.

Did you have a wicked awesome Wednesday? Share the deets!

2 Responses to “Wicked Awesome Wednesday (Still Day 37…)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com August 11, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    I had a “Wimpy Un-awesome Wednesday” as I am sick with a stupid sinus infection, but glad yours kicked major ass!

  2. RunCupcake August 11, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Oh sinus infections suck! I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

