The Countdown is On (Day 37)

10 Aug

Now that I’ve recovered from Marathon Sunday, climbed Mt. Washington (Report Part 1, Report Part 2), and ran my first ever Rock N Roll Half Marathon, it’s time to once again crack down and get serious.

Serious about what?

MARATHON #2!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s what.  I know I’ve been talking about it a bit here and there, but with only 37 days to go, it’s going to consume most of what you hear from me! So brace yourselves!

On Sunday, while I sat on my couch avoiding rain for the rest of the day (I was seriously waterlogged after that race!), I prepared my training schedule for the next 6 weeks. If all goes well my peak week will be 44 miles, and August will be my BIGGEST MONTH EVER

So, Coachy reviewed my training schedule, tweaked a couple of things (I had an overly ambitious pre-taper week), and gave it his seal of approval! I’m ready!

Last night started with P90X Cardio-X.  I may be completely insane, but that was fun.  I was supposed to run recovery from RnR Half, but it was pouring rain and I wasn’t motivated enough to drive to the gym. I was hardly motivated to work out – does anyone else find crappy weather and poor motivation to work out often go hand in hand? I knew I couldn’t blow off my workout, not this close to Marathon #2.

So, back to Cardio-X.  45 minutes of heart pounding, low impact cardio moves.  It’s a great combo, so you don’t get bored!

  • Yoga warm up
  • Kenpo
  • Plyometrics
  • Core
  • Stretching/cool down
Between the sweat and my heart rate – it was just the same as if I had run 4 miles! The best part, for me, is that I was always afraid of plyometrics, because doing any kind of jumping movements always hurt my knees, or I couldn’t breathe.  That is NO LONGER THE CASE! 
I also decided today that an emergency gym bag would be a good addition to the inside of my car.  That way I have no excuses if the weather is crappy. And I won’t feel like I’m throwing money away every month because I’m not using my gym membership. It may even get it’s first use tonight, since there’s a threat of afternoon thunderstorms!
I wanna know – What do you do to workout when your regularly scheduled workout is supposed to be outside, but Mother Nature has made other plans for you?

2 Responses to “The Countdown is On (Day 37)”

  1. phillynerdgirl.com August 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I definitely have a hard time with this. Lately, I've been taking the bf with me to the gym since I can bring one guest per day. He has one at work, but when I tell him we're going he doesn't bring his bag so if I try to bail on the plan he pushes me to go so he doesn't miss. Works pretty well. Home workouts are annoying for me because our TV is in the basement of the row home and the ceilings are drop tiles! I can literally knock them out just by stretching my arms overhead. Awkward!

  2. My Thirty Spot August 11, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Hi! I love your blog! So inspiring! I used to run and have been considering going back to it. I loved the thrill of a race. Thanks for having my button on your blog! That rocks! I am happy to see you like my blog! Keep checking out my blog, I put you on my blogroll!

    Erin
    My Thirty Spot

Leave a Reply

