Awesome Workouts and Equally Awesome Pasta

5 Aug

Remember last week when I asked about organization and time management?  I’m getting better with it! I took yesterday as an unplanned rest day (from Facebook, Twitter, and blogging too) to get some stuff done around here and boy do I feel better!

Tonight I ran for the first time since last Wednesday.  My poor foot has been feeling better for a couple days now, but I didn’t want to push my luck, so I stuck with cross training until tonight.  I headed out the door with the intention of running a couple easy miles, just to get a feel for how my foot was going to react – and to make sure I can still run! I always get paranoid when I take a few days off that I’m going to lose all my running skills.  Does that happen to anyone else?
A couple easy miles is just what I got:
I’m having a hard time believing that a sub-10 minute pace has become my easy pace! Less than a year ago I couldn’t run a sub-30 5k! Now this?! 
Everything felt great, except my foot.  It wasn’t horrible by any means, but it still had a twinge as if to say, “I’m still here, hello, don’t forget about me!” I made sure to stretch my calves and feet really well when I got home just to avoid any further damage.  And I’ll ice it as soon as I’m actually off my feet for the night.
So that was just Part 1 of tonight’s workout.  I know it, I’m an animal! I’ve concluded that my upper body strength needs serious help, so last week I started including upper body weight workouts to my routine. 
Tonight I did Carrots ‘N’ Weights – Week 1 Day 1.  Tina from Carrots ‘N’ Cake started sharing her weight routine with readers a couple weeks ago, and since I’m always up for a new, fresh workout, I gave it a try.  The only thing I did different than her workout is that I used 5# weights (see, I’m a weakling – or it could be that’s all I have for free weights in my house).  I did all 45 reps of all 6 exercises, and I will be feeling it tomorrow! My arms were rubber! I’m glad I didn’t use any heavier weight, but hopefully I can build up eventually.
I’m feeling pretty awesome right now that I had a great run and a great strength training session all in one night! Woohoo! 
After all that working out I was starving.  I bought an eggplant at the grocery story this week because it was on sale, and I wasn’t exactly sure what I was going to do with it.
Enter:
“Grilled” Eggplant Pasta – Serves 4 normal people, 3 hungry people, 2 runners after a regular run, or 1 runner after a good 20-miler

Ingredients:
  • 1 small eggplant, sliced into thick rounds
  • 1/2# pasta, of your choice, I used thin spaghetti
  • Pasta sauce, of your choice, heated
  • Garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
(gotta love a recipe with only 5 ingredients right?)
  • Cook pasta according to package directions
  • Season eggplant slices with garlic powder and Italian seasoning.  Make sure they’re a little wet so the seasoning sticks.
  • While the pasta is cooking, “grille” your eggplant on a griddle pan sprayed with non-stick spray. (I was going to actually grille the eggplant, but my time management skills haven’t been good enough to allow me to get to the grocery store and exchange my empty propane cylinder.  I must do this ASAP.)
  • Cook your eggplant until it’s browned and tender.

  • Then slice the eggplant into bite size pieces
  • Mix eggplant pieces, pasta, and pasta sauce and viola – a beautiful, delicious dinner in no time!
I served mine alongside a toasted sandwich roll topped with butter and garlic powder.  And of course I topped my pasta with Parmesan cheese, that’s just a necessity.
Only 2 days left until my 10th race of 2011! I am well on track for my 12 races in 12 months goal! Maybe I should up it to 15 races, just to be crazy.
When you get close to reaching a goal with plenty of time left, do you make it harder for yourself? I like to, if I can.  Challenging myself is fun, and it’s part of the fun of being a runner!
P.S. I apologize in advance for the quality of some of these pictures – My arms are really tired from that weight workout, and I couldn’t keep my arms/hands steady enough for the food setting on my camera! 

P.S. (AGAIN) I just realized that 6 weeks from Saturday is Marathon #2.  Coming soon: Marathon #2 countdown and my new training plan and goals!
Leave a Reply

