Things I’ve Learned

2 Aug

Since becoming a runner a little over a year ago I’ve learned a lot:

  1. 4″ Heels every day are no longer for me (boohoo)(like mega boohoo – my cute shoes are collecting dust)
  2. Weak quads cause my sciatica to act up
  3. I sweat a lot from my elbows, and my head
  4. What you eat and drink two days before a long run/race is more important than what you eat/drink the day before – with this came Carb Friday, my new fave day
  5. Blister prevention is as simple as Vaseline and gauze
  6. Just crossing my legs wrong causes my left shin to hurt
  7. Toenails are pretty much useless (and way too sensitive)
  8. Spitting isn’t that disgusting
  9. Snot rockets help you breathe (and impress a bunch of old men running behind you)
  10. The running shoe store guys don’t always know what they’re talking about
  11. An Italian sausage sandwich does not make good running fuel; however, if it’s a Fenway Sausage it makes a great dinner the night before a half
  12. NEVER use a port-a-potty AFTER the race
  13. Unexpected taper madness turns me into a giant beaaatch
  14. There are books to read that weren’t written by Stephen King (who knew?) (See here and here)
  15. Rolling out of bed an hour before the race starts is never a good idea
  16. Walking is harder than running
  17. Running 100+ miles in a month feels AWESOME
  18. I am not invincible
  19. P90X X-Stretch is the best workout video EVER
Not to mention all of the other lessons I’ve posted in other posts.  
And I had the list bulleted before I changed it to numbered – but since it’s at my lucky number, I’m not listing anymore.  A few of these have some pretty hilarious stories related to them – I’ll share in the future!
What have you learned since becoming a runner?
3 Responses to “Things I’ve Learned”

  1. Meg O @watchmegorun August 2, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    great post! I feel the same way about almost all of it. I've also learned that an injury can teach you a lot about your body…like what parts need to get stronger.

  2. Alanna @ Blood, Sweat & Cupcakes August 2, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Hey! I saw the name of your blog and had to stop by! Hello from another cupcake runner! 🙂

  3. RunCupcake August 3, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    @Meg – absolutely! That's how I learned how to prevent sciatica problems! And I'm learning that now with my feet!

    @Alanna – love the name of your blog. I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

