Seriously Unmotivated

2 Aug
Do you ever have one of those days where working it is the LAST THING you want to do?  Tonight was one of those nights.  By the time I got around to my workout tonight I was seriously unmotivated. You see, I went to bed last night at 9:30 with the latest book I’m reading

By 10 p.m. I was tired enough to go to sleep – I had a busy weekend! And since I am nursing a foot injury and I’m working on getting more organized, I thought a good night’s sleep was the ultimate great idea.

I fell asleep with no problems, but I am naturally a sleeper.  I can sleep anywhere, anytime. It was staying asleep that was giving me problems.  I must have woken up 6 times between 10 p.m. and 5:30 a.m.

Why?

Because I was having a freaking nightmare about some psycho lunatic shooting up a hospital.  I’ve been watching Harper’s Island on Netflix, since none of my regular shows are on in the summer. Have any of you ever watched this? It’s freaky! I love crazy, scary stuff, my favorite author is Stephen King.  Well apparently I should not watch this kind of stuff right before I go to bed!

Needless to say, when the alarm went off at 5:30, I did not get up.  So I did not get anything done this morning.  Oh well, there’s still more mornings, but because of the nightmare I’ve been tired all day.

When I got home from work I thought it was a good time to get some stuff done.  Before I knew it, 7:30 had arrived and I had lost all desire to work out.

So I did what any insane person would do. I took the dog for a walk (15 minutes) then did P90X Ab Ripper-X (15 minutes). I figure, if I don’t want to work out in the first place I might as well combine something I enjoy with something that’ll give me the most bang for my buck.  I knew if I didn’t work out I’d be disappointed in myself, especially because it’s a race week.  I always strive to be the fittest, healthiest, me I can be, but during race weeks I work especially hard because I don’t want anything to affect my performance come race day. (That doesn’t mean I’m not enjoying a big glass of zinfandel while I type this.)

OH BOY Let me tell you – Have you ever done Ab Ripper X? It’s 339 repetitions jam packed into 15 minutes of lactic acid building, core burning, SERIOUSLY HARD work. DISCLAIMER:  I cannot do all 339 reps. I wonder if anyone other than the people in the video can? It’s ridiculous! I do all the moves, just not all the reps.  It’s hard core serious stuff.  But it gets the job done. My ab muscles are burning already.

And do I feel better for doing it? Of course.

And is my doggy happy that I took her for a walk? You tell me.

She only opened her eyes when I picked up the camera.

After my crazy workout I made myself a beautiful dinner. I’m very proud of it, so I’m sharing it with you:

Zucchini and squash sauteed in olive oil with garlic
Texmati Mushroom Medley Rice

 

YUM YUM YUM!!!
I’ve been in a mega food funk lately – eating a LOT of the same things.  Loads of pasta with veggies, salads, etc… I get bored easily, so I planned this weeks meals based on what was on sale at the grocery store and what I already had in my cupboards! It was so refreshing to have a new, delicious dinner to eat tonight! 

Do you ever find yourself seriously unmotivated?  How do you snap out of it?


What about food funks? Ever get into them? Have any good suggestions for getting out of them? 

4 Responses to “Seriously Unmotivated”

  1. Wifey August 2, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Yup, I definitely have trouble with motivation at times, but setting new goals for myself normally helps. I have food funks, too! I could eat the same thing over and over, but my family would probably oust me out the kitchen!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  2. ShutUpandRun August 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Yep I go thru ups and downs with motivation. If it's due to heavy training, I rest. If it's just due to my mind I push thru and don't overthink it

  3. RunCupcake August 2, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Last night was definitely all in my head! I was just being lazy!

  4. Tanya @ Dine, Dash and Deadlift August 10, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    CUTEST puppy ever!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

