What do you do? (Getting Organized)

29 Jul

It’s time for me to get serious for a minute here folks, don’t worry, this isn’t typical and I’ll try like hell not to bore you to tears (or worse, death).

Ever since I started marathon training I have found time for little else in my life.  Well, aside from my social life, because I would rather go out for dinner and drinks with my friends than clean my bathrooms any day. Life’s too short to put cleaning before drinking friends and family.

I work 40 hours a week (like most people).

I spend 5+ hours a week commuting to said work (I know that could be worse, glad it’s not).

I spend over an hour a day getting ready for work (shower, hair, makeup, ironing, packing lunch, etc…)

Then of course there’s all the other nonsense like laundry, cooking, grocery shopping etc…

I’m not complaining, I know that these are all facts of life.  If I want to eat I have to cook and shop.  If I don’t want to be a nudist, I have to do laundry.

Then there’s my training schedule:

  • Monday – Yoga (1 hour)
  • Tuesday – Run (1 hour +/-)
  • Wednesday – Run (1 hour +/-)
  • Thursday – Upper body strength plus run (1.5 hours)
  • Friday – typically a rest day, but if I’m feeling strong I’ll add a core workout (1 hour)
  • Saturday – Run and extra stretching (2 hours)
  • Sunday – Long run (anywhere up to 4 hours)
That’s anywhere between 10-14 hours a week worth of workouts.  Wow, sounds like a lot when you put it that way! 
Sounds like I’ve got it all under control right? WRONG. I’m trying like crazy to figure out how to get it all under control and I’ve set a date that I’d like to do it by.
But what I need is advice. I work out after work because I am NOT a morning person. I love sleep almost as much as I love eating.  
How do I balance work/housework/training/plenty of sleep without making myself completely crazy? (I am only one person after all!)
Things I can’t (or won’t) do:
  • Give up blogging (duh) (won’t)
  • Exercise on my lunch break (can’t – only get 1/2 hour, nowhere to bathe, my coworkers would be appalled if I came back to my desk sweaty and didn’t shower)
  • Give up quality time with family and friends (won’t)
  • Train less (definitely won’t)

So that leaves me with the question, what do you do? How do you balance it all without the added stress (things like sinks full of dirty dishes give me anxiety).
One Response to “What do you do? (Getting Organized)”

  1. sugarcoatedsisters.com July 29, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Time management is one of my biggest battles. I couldn't imagine adding marathon training on top of all of it.

    Right now I wake up around 5:30, go to the gym by 6. Spend a measly 45 minutes there, come home to shower. Commute 1 hr 15 mins to work. Spend 8 hrs there. Commute back 1 hr 15 mins and then use my nights to get everything else in.

    I'd love to have more time to train, but after work the last thing I want to do is work out. Sometimes, if I'm feeling the need to sleep in I'll pack gym clothes and hit it up on my way home.

    Things that help me:
    -Try to only go grocery shopping once a week.
    -Use carpool time to plan blog posts, edit/resize photos

    Things I'm terrible at:
    -getting enough sleep (I usually get 5 or 6)
    -housework, dishes, etc. (thank god my sister is there to help out!!)

Leave a Reply

