Mad Marathon Report (Friday and Saturday)(Part 1)

18 Jul
Alright girls and boys – the moment you have all been waiting for:
MARATHON WEEKEND RECAP (PART 1)!
Friday
As you all (probably) know I love Fridays – not just for the obvious Friday reasons – but because it means it’s time to carb up in preparation for Sunday’s long run. 
Weeeeeeelllll pre-marathon Friday didn’t exactly end up like that.  I was a bad blogger and totally blew off taking pictures of all my food.  Whoops.  The day started out with me and my friend Jen having breakfast at a very popular breakfast spot near my house called T’s.  I had the eggs Benedict and an iced coffee – I even made sure to order the whole wheat English muffin.  A+ for some carbs there.  She had eggs and corned beef hash – which she still raves about because it’s homemade and not “that crap out of a can.” (Hilarious!) I will definitely be trying that next time I’m at T’s.
I don’t remember what I had for lunch.  I don’t even remember if I had lunch.  Oohh, that’s bad. Well it was over a week ago, I’m not going to beat myself up over it.
Dinner was the star of the day anyway.  Coachy arrived in town just in time for dinner. So I did what any good Rhode Islander does with a Midwesterner – I took him down to the ocean where we ate at the Coast Guard House.  We were supposed to sit outside on the deck and enjoy some casual seaside far, but alas, it was raining, so we ate inside.  I took the liberty of introducing Coachy to two of my favorite local appetizers – littlenecks on the half shell and stuffies.  Coachy had the scallop dish and I had tuna.  Both meals were out of this world, but naturally did not include enough carbs for less than 48 hours til race time.
Oh well, as they say, when in Rome (or Narragansett as the case may be)…
We figured out our road trip strategy for Saturday morning and were on the way. 
Saturday
I got the car packed up, loaded a cooler full of water, Gatorade, and beer (hey look – CARBS!), along with a back seat full of the massive amount of road trip snacks I bought.  I went over board (as usual – a trait I get from my mom) so I have plenty of stuff to snack on now.
First stop: Panera Bread.  Their breakfast sammiches are TO.DIE.FOR and I’ve been raving about one to Coachy for a while now.  He was deprived and hadn’t had this sammich, so I made sure we made a pit stop. The one I rave so much about is the Asiago Bagel Breakfast Sandwich:
(From the Panera website): Freshly cracked egg, Applewood-smoked bacon and Vermont white cheddar on our Asiago Bagel.

Let me tell you one thing.  If you have never had this sandwich before, get your butt in the car tomorrow morning and get it on down to your nearest Panera Bread.  DO IT! You won’t regret it, I promise. Seriously. It is THAT good.
We took the scenic route since Coachy has never been to New England, and me being me, I was hungry along the way (the scenic route to Vermont is a looooooooooooooooooong drive). Since I had loaded us up on treats, we snacked on:
  • ·         Cape Cod salt & black pepper potato chips
  • ·         Welch’s fruit snacks (those are GOOD!)
  • ·         Rice Krispie Treats
  • ·         Powerbars

I had also made sure to bring bagels, bananas, peanut butter, etc… since I wasn’t sure what the hotel would provide.  Turns out they were ready for the runners!
I am really bad at taking blog pics since blogging is all kinda sorta new for me – I promise I’ll get better.  But, upon check in I noticed little blue slips of paper on the front desk for the runners.  You see, the continental breakfast at the hotel didn’t start until 7, so we wouldn’t have been able to eat there.  But they were kind enough to provide bagels, fruit, juice, and a couple other options (muffins and hard boiled eggs, I think).  We both got bagels and bananas – of course.  All the hotels I’ve stayed in before races (3 now) have been so kind and generous to make sure the runners were taken care of – I hope they all know that their little extras do not go unnoticed. 
We actually went to the “expo” before checking into the hotel – but I got carried away talking about food. I say “expo” because there wasn’t much to look at – but really, what do you expect from a small-ish race hours from “real” civilization?
It was very well organized though.  They had boards for the half and full marathon where you could look up your name and get your number.  That was reality check #1 for me – HOLY CRAP, I have to find my name on the FULL marathon board. We found our names and made our way over to the tables to get our race bags.  They provided us with really nice cinch sacks! I have one from the Charleston Half as well which has become my go-to race bag, I really like these! We got our numbers and wandered around for a bit, picking up cool things like stickers and such. 
Then we went and checked into the hotel, but I told you all there is to tell about that already.  Really cute place though – if you’re ever in the Waitsfield, VT area – check out the Sugar Lodge – it’s a cute little cabiny like hotel at the base of Sugarbush Ski Resort. No frills, just simple cute little hotel (although, they know they can make the money off of tourists – SO THEY DO.  Yikes.)
Shortly after checking in it was time to partake in our pre-race dinner.  Many of the restaurants in town were participating in the “Mad Carbo” – all we had to do was look for the signs in front of the restaurants.  One place was right near the hotel – and was even recommended to us by some locals – but when we arrived there wasn’t anybody there.
YIKES.
There were 1200 people registered for this race – plus friends and family – where is everyone?
Coachy and I agreed that it seemed too sketchy – with that many people in town, why wasn’t anyone at this ITALIAN restaurant?
We passed on that and headed into town.
We ended up at a tavern called Ake’s Den.  They had a Mad Carbo special as well as a few other well carbed offerings. 
We started with the spinach and artichoke dip because it was served up with baguette bread (YAY CARBS).  Delicious.  We had no problem dominating the entire dish.
Then Coachy ordered the special (I know it was some sort of pasta dish with veggies and cream sauce but I don’t remember exactly…) and I had the baked ziti which was chock full of chicken, chunky tomato sauce, and cheese and served with two very generously cut slices of garlic bread.  

I probably said a million times something to the extent of “Am I really running a marathon tomorrow?!” Yeah, I was nervous. We may or may not have partaken in a few adult beverages as well (CARBS!).
After dinner we perused the town, which was pretty quiet and empty by then, checking out the finish line area, the beer garden (of course), and where there were going to be port-a-potties. I was going through one of my little min-freak outs and one of the volunteers over heard me.  She reassured me, as many others did before the race began, that I was going to be just fine. It was going to be hilly, yes, but there were plenty of water/aid stations, as long as I took my time.  The people were really great. There wasn’t much else to see so we decided to call it a night.
I set my alarm for 5 a.m. – I knew I was going to want to get up and get going for a little bit before I ate breakfast and with a gun time of 7:30, 5 a.m. was really the latest I wanted to get up. Off to sleepy land I go….
I tossed and turned and woke up what seemed like a MILLION times that night.  HOLY NERVES.  It was finally dawning on me – tomorrow, less than 12 hours from now, you are going to be running 26.2 miles through the mountains of VT.  There’s no turning back now.  I tried to quiet my brain and my nerves – but short of doing shots, it wasn’t happening.  So I just kept attempting sleep.
To be continued…It’s long enough as it is!
2 Responses to “Mad Marathon Report (Friday and Saturday)(Part 1)”

  1. Fruit Fly July 19, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    This whole town just looks too cute! And every time I see that ziti I want it (minus the chicken). Ziti and garlic bread … delicious!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Races (Year in Review) « Running and Cupcakes - January 2, 2012

    […] and he pushed my butt along when I needed a push. If you want to read all about it you can: Recap Part 1, Race Report in Pictures, Race Report: The Race. We finished in 5:28:58. I finished my first […]

Leave a Reply

