Wicked Random

15 Jul
I didn’t work out today. Don’t judge – I’m recovering from a marathon. 
I did, however, go grocery shopping.  Good thing – my fridge was looking like the person that lives here doesn’t eat. And well, we all know THAT’S not true.
Randomness #1
Does anyone else crave veggies? I do…I think I could honestly be a vegetarian – can vegetarians eat steak? and shrimp? and bacon? 
Today was one of those craving days.  I realized that veggies have been truly lacking in my diet lately.  First it was Fourth of July, then I was out of work for a week of vacation, then I was traveling and running a marathon so of course I didn’t pay a single thought to what went into my mouth after the race. Today my body said – ENOUGH! STOP WITH THE JUNK ALREADY! I gotta give my mom credit here – she said on Tuesday it was good to be back to work, that “there’s something to be said about routine.” I disagreed with her at the moment (I just had 10 days off of work – why ON EARTH would I agree with that statement?) – but it dawned on me, routine is good for my eating habits, if nothing else.  Yes, mom, you were right again, sheesh.
I was craving veggies so bad I planned an entire week of meat free dinners – subconsciously. This is something new for me – I hope I included enough protein to keep myself happy. 
I started tonight.  For some reason I wasn’t hungry when I got home from the grocery store (another oddity…) so I just prepped up a beautiful salad and a couple slices of whole wheat ciabatta bread.
  A delicious mix of baby greens, radishes, yellow pepper, carrots, cuke, feta cheese, croutons, and Ken’s Northern Italian Dressing.
All salads should have croutons on them.  I ask my mother almost every time I’m at her house if she has croutons.  Do you think she’s gotten the hint yet? My brother tries to trick me, “Sam, bring a bag over.” YEAH FREAKIN RIGHT KID – I know there will be none left for me next time I eat there. I hope mommy realizes soon that all salads really DO need croutons.  She reads this – hint hint MOMMY BUY CROUTONS. (Subtle enough for ya? teehee)
Randomness #2:
I’m running the Rock N Roll Half Marathon in Providence on August 7th.  My original plan was to run and enjoy the scenery, the music, etc… Not anymore.
I’m going to try to PR – More specifically, I’m going to try to break 2 hours.  My half PR right now is 2:10:13, which is significantly slower than a 2-hour half.  BUT – That was run the week before I started marathon training.  I am hoping the marathon training has done me some good.  We’ll see.  I’ll be happy with a PR, I’ll be ecstatic to break 2.  That’ll also give me a good idea of what I should be doing for marathon training for Marathon #2
Randomness #3:

I have inspired one of my girlfriends to start the Couch to 5k program.  I AM SO STOKED for her. I had such great success (coming up on my one year graduation date this month too!) with the program, as have so many others.  The person that invented this program is truly a genius. 
I’m feeling pretty awesome that lil’ ol’ me could inspire anyone to do anything. It’s a great feeling.  I wish her the best of luck every step of the way, and I know she can do it!
Randomness #4:

“Why oh why are you showing us empty peanut butter jars?” This may be a thought that is going through your head right now.  Unless, of course, you know about Overnight Oats in a Jar! YES – This seems to be a HUGE thing with so many food bloggers.  I love oatmeal, so when I emptied my peanut butter jar earlier this week, it was the first thing that came to mind.  Then when I emptied my SECOND jar this week (I’m a peanut butter hog – I keep a jar in my desk at work) I WAS SUPER STOKED.
My first batch is in the fridge as I write this.  I’ll fill you in on all the (hopeful)deliciousness tomorrow.  
Randomness #5:

My legs are getting twitchy.  I really want to run.  Maybe Sunday.  I think it’ll be all I have in me to take it easy.
Randomness #6

YES – The race report is coming.  I swear.  I haven’t started it yet (eeks) but the only plans I have for this weekend are tomorrow night.  I need a weekend off.  I will write it, I swear. Please believe me, I won’t let you down.
Randomness #7:

This is kinda fun – I should write super wicked random posts more often.
Randomness #8:

My dog doesn’t like carrots.  WHAT? What kind of dog doesn’t like carrots? And when a radish rolled across the kitchen floor tonight – she just stared.
She’s odd unique.
That’s all folks – I might have had more but I hate odd numbers.  (Weird right?)
GOODNIGHT FRIENDS!
3 Responses to “Wicked Random”

  1. VERONICA July 15, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    Who's the friend??? Is it Martha? 🙂

  2. RunCupcake July 15, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    No it's not Martha! But that would be totally wicked awesome too!!!!

  3. Fruit Fly July 22, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Biker Boy gave my dog a carrot. She took it from his hand and delicately set it on the floor. Then looked up waiting for the “real” food to be placed in her mouth.

Leave a Reply

