Walking is Harder than Running

14 Jul

Say WHAT?

You heard me.

Walking

IS

HARDER

Than

Running

I swear I stepped on the dog 6 times tonight.  Sorry little baby.

I decided after reading articles and receiving advice to take the slow and easy recovery road.  That means no running. For a week.

Huh? Not cool.

It’s a damn good thing my legs aren’t feeling “normal” right now.

Funny thing…I can still take stairs normal.  WHAT THE HELL DID I DO TO MYSELF A COUPLE MONTHS AGO WHERE STAIRS WERE SUCH A CHALLENGE FOR WEEKS?!?!?! (Any insight really would be appreciated.)

So, last night and tonight I walked.  Lexi appreciates that, I’m not so sure she loves running as much as I do.  but walking, well see for yourself:

C’mon Mom, lets go, lets go, lets go.

And why do I say walking is harder than running? Runner friends – you already know the answer to this one.  For those that don’t it’s pretty obvious.  When you’re used to getting your exercise on foot at speeds of 6 mph or greater, a 3.8 mph walk is lame and boring.  I know, I know, QT with the doggy, excellent yes, she needs attention too since she’s a baby.  But…

It is so hard to walk! I have to force myself to put on old running shoes that I know will cause me pain/suffering/injuries/frustration if I run in them, so I don’t bust into an “easy” jog.

I can’t wait til next week so I can run again.

And don’t worry – I haven’t forgotten my race report.  It’s just going to take a while to get all the deets right and perfect for you guys.

So for now I say…

THE COUNTDOWN IS ON

64 DAYS UNTIL

I’m officially hooked…thinking of finding another one before October 10 so I can qualify to become a Marathon Maniac.  Anyone know of any in the New Englandish area?
2 Responses to “Walking is Harder than Running”

  1. Fruit Fly July 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Okay, well then I won't suggest Portland, Oregon in October. Not exactly New Englandish area!

    I totally agree with the walking thing. And I also feel self-conscious like I'll be judged by others for “just walking” versus running and looking like a crazy girl out there running!

  2. RunCupcake July 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    HAHA If I could travel all the time I'd be there in October!

Leave a Reply

