Mad Marathon – Race Report in Pictures

13 Jul

Hi boys and girls! I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack! Did you miss me?

I won’t get to write a full race report until this weekend – it’s going to take some time, but I promise I will do it as soon as possible!

So for now I leave you with a race report in photos.

Race day outfit and bib – CHECK.
Restaurants in town all joined in on the “Mad Carbo”
 Our choice for the night – a nice taverny place with an outdoor patio
 Baked ziti with chicken and garlic bread
 Really good garlic bread (and dominated dish of spinach artichoke dip)
 One old lady said “Should be the worlds ugliest marathon” – I’m fairly certain she was talking about the elevation changes
 Duh.
 FREAKING OUT! I’M GOING TO RUN A MARATHON!
 Coachy/Wicked Awesome Paysah Jim – he rocks, nothing like an hour and 20 minutes off of PR to help me out! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!
Still running, still feeling good, mile 1? LOL
 Plenty of dirt roads to run on makes Coachy happy
 And so it begins.  The game – how many peeps can we pick off before the end.  18 total – how many got us? ZERO. Yeah, I may be slow, but I’m a competitor!
Hot, tired, dry, and I think trying to figure out where to pin my # so I don’t have to put my shirt back on.
 WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 I DID IT! WE DID IT! We survived the first ever Mad Marathon – all 2100′ of elevation gain!
 Post race deliciousness
 Post race bacon cheeseburger
  Yup, here again, it was really good.

There you have it my friends – my first marathon in pictures. More to come in much greater detail later in the week.

My final time, btw, 5:28:58.  How do I feel today? Fabulous! Still riding high on my first (but not only) marathon finish!

Goodnight!

7 Responses to “Mad Marathon – Race Report in Pictures”

  1. Emz July 13, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    Girl. You. Freaking. Rock.
    Awesome. Job.

    Love this!!

  2. Unknown July 13, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    you really do rock and should be soooo proud of yourself!!!!

  3. adventuresintrainingforamarathon.com July 13, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Yay! I'm so proud and happy for you! I've been bugging Veronica all week asking where this post was. Running makes me cry…seriously, it's weird…it's very emotional for me. Just envisioning myself in Boston in April makes me cry….so I totally just cried checking out your experience through pictures. So excited for you!

  4. RunCupcake July 13, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Thank you thank you!

    I cried, I started before I even crossed the finish line. The race director stopped me after I crossed, she thought there was something wrong, but I was just crying!!! It is an incredible experience, I can't wait to write more more MORE about it!

  5. Fruit Fly July 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    RAD RAD RAD !!!!

    And come on – extra rad points to you for being awesome enough to be able to run topless. Go You!!

    Love the photos – excited to hear about it in your own words!

  6. Why July 18, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Awesome job Congrats!!! Great pics. Way to document your effort. This will be worth a look in 10 years. Way to go!!!! Feel free to post on our FB wall. 🙂
    Mike
    http://www.facebook.com/WhyMarathon

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Races (Year in Review) « Running and Cupcakes - January 2, 2012

    […] pushed my butt along when I needed a push. If you want to read all about it you can: Recap Part 1, Race Report in Pictures, Race Report: The Race. We finished in 5:28:58. I finished my first marathon – […]

Leave a Reply

