Southwestern Grilled Black Bean Cakes

9 Jul

Hi friends! While I’m up in Vermont enjoying the scenery and getting ready to run my butt off, I thought you’d enjoy a delicious summer recipe!

I adapted my recipe from this Better Homes and Gardens recipe.  I changed it to make it easier, and to include ingredients that are more common in a typical kitchen.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1 1/2 tbsp dried cilantro
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 teaspoons taco sauce (or any other hot sauce you prefer)
  • 1 teaspoon liquid smoke (optional, it makes the cakes very smokey, if you don’t like smokey, leave it out, I’m sure they’ll still be delicious!)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 egg
  • Optional toppings: avocado, tomato, salsa

Directions
  • Place black beans, cilantro, garlic, cumin, taco sauce, and liquid smoke in food processor.  Pulse until coarsely chopped.
  • Add black bean mixture and egg to bread crumbs in a mixing bowl and mix well. 

  • Shape into four 1/2-inch thick patties. 

  • Grille over medium heat for 5 minutes per side. 
  • Garnish how ever you would please! I put avocado and tomato on mine.  After one bite I realized they were kinda dry, so I doused them in salsa.  Delicious!

I served this dish alongside some Spanish rice and I couldn’t finish it all, it’s very filling!
I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!
2 Responses to “Southwestern Grilled Black Bean Cakes”

  1. Stephanie July 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Saw your guest post, thanks for the great recipes!! Good luck with your marathon, hope it went well!

  2. Fruit Fly July 12, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    You're so multi-talented!

Leave a Reply

